We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Totally interesting burial grounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Presbyterian Meeting House

Old Presbyterian Meeting House
Book In Advance
$78.98*
and up
Mt Vernon and Old Town Alexandria Day Trip from Washington DC
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
297 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Totally interesting burial grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The burial grounds behind the Meeting House was totally interesting as we walked around at our leisure. The variety of stones, including the "table" type, which we had not seen before, and of course, the Tomb of the Unknown Revolutionary Soldier, were well worth seeing. We were not able to get inside the Meeting House, but the large windows at ground level allowed us to look inside at the well-maintained interior.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Presbyterian Meeting House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This old church has retained it's colonial charm. In it's history, it has often been in the forefront of social change. The cemetery has many old graves including the one of the unknown Revolutionary War soldier.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerdc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“From the days when churches were “meeting houses"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a church with a history reaching back to pre-Revolutionary Alexandria, VA. While not the original structure, the sanctuary is elegant and historic in its own right. Its burial ground contains the remains of the “unknown soldier” of the American Revolution. One of the several memorial services for Geo. Washington was held here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great church, excellent pastors - history and faith in 1 stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was in town over Easter and went to church with my family. The Old Presbyterian Meeting House is a beautiful, historical church in Old Towne. I could not help but consider the history of the church, while also considering the excellent message delivered by the pastor that Sunday morning. This was my second visit to this church, and while smaller than my home church, the members, staff, and visitors were all friendly, welcoming and happy to greet a visitor.

Out of town on Sunday? Why not visit a neighborhood church service? At the Old Presbyterian Meeting House, combine history and faith on your visit. Highly recommend a visit for Sunday service!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaGATrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint neighborhood church with history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We're locals and have been to several services at this church. It has a neat history and the inside just feels like an historic church without much pretense. Everyone has always been quite friendly. I wouldn't say it's a must-see for tourists unless you're really interested in old churches.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank em952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Presbyterian Meeting House also viewed

 

Been to Old Presbyterian Meeting House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing