We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite Alexandria Museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum

Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Civil War History Walking Tour of Alexandria
Ranked #6 of 87 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Apothecary served local customers, including the Washingtons and Robert E. Lee, between 1792 and 1933. The shop was transformed into a museum shortly after its closing and visitors can still view the original ingredients, products, and documents left behind by this 141-year-old family business.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3,237 reviews
1,777 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,875 helpful votes
“Favorite Alexandria Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

I love this place because it is so unique. This is the same pharmacy where people in Alexandria (including George and Martha Washington) had their prescriptions filled for over 130 years. I always recommend this place to friends because I just find it so interesting. I've never met anyone who was disappointed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank QuickWhitTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    38
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Must visit if you're interested in traditional remedies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I've wanted to visit this museum for several years and it was always closed when I managed to make it to Alexandria. Finally had the chance to go. It consists of two rooms full of original shelves and counters containing items from the Apothecary. The tour guide was formally a pharmacist and provided a lot of insight. My friend and I both had a scientific background along with a life long interest in herbal remedies, for this reason we had very interesting conversations with the guide. I would have loved to have spent more time in here and hope to return again. If you have any interest in herbal remedies/chemistry/history I would highly recommend.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank freqworld_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

If visiting Old Town take the tme to visit this small museum to learn about the early days of the pharmacy business. The tour guide was great and willing to take the time with your group ans answer all quatons. Many great stories about the family business and its customers. Much better than I was expecting!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A fun find in Old Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

This place is a gem. Although small very much worth the visit. On Washington's Birthday Parade Day and St. Patrick's Parade Day it's free and very worth the take

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank fitzstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
172 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A different history tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Yes, take the tour. You got a dollar off for AAA membership.
Learned about the family pharmacy business, from production to manufacturing all in the same store. Really cool, good for Teens also.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank CDEMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum also viewed

 

Been to Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing