We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Alexandria
Post
Inbox
Search

“I will try this place again. We enjoyed our visit but we were hoping for a little better.”
Review of River Bend Bistro

River Bend Bistro
Order Online
Ranked #173 of 902 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: American, French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The place is really nice inside, even though the restaurant is in a strip center. The service was attentive and the menu items all sounded delicious. The four of us shared a few appys. The oysters were delicious, fresh and tasty. The caramelized onion tater tots were mostly potato but the horseradish cream was good. I had the agnolotti pasta which was a bit bland and a bit too dry. Two of my dinner mates had the salmon but the fish was too dry/overcooked and a bit bland. Rainbow trout was the fourth entree which was very good. We shared the ice cream for dessert and it was arguably the best ice cream we ever had. Should have asked where it was from. We'll go back and try again.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tkrug2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 73 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2019

Based on a recommendation we stopped at the River Bend Bistro and we were very happy we did. Excellent service, piping hot food and reasonable prices.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Food
Thank jjd0778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2019

Had dinner on a Sunday night with friends, all our dishes, drinks and desserts were expertly prepared and presented. Very creative combinations of flavors in each dish.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 86evanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2019

We stopped in here mid afternoon for a drink after a long drive. The drinks were good and the service, Kathleen, was excellent. She was a real hoot and we really enjoyed our time there. We will return for a meal next time we're in town and, of course, see Kathleen again.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TallTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

We can't eat here often enough. This past week, we had delicious fresh oysters on the half shell, tuna steak with asparagus and salmon with lentils. Luckily, we save some room for dessert and tried the chocolate cherry pie - too awesome to describe in words!

One can find just about anything to satisfy their hunger and finicky palate - lamb, rib-eye steak, risotto, appetizers galore and desserts to die for.

This restaurant won't break your budget, either. entrees range from $18 to $28. Top shelf drinks like Tito's martinis at $10 and a superb 6 oz. glass of wine is $8 to $12.

It's between Old Town and Mt. Vernon and definitely worth a try!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Bend Bistro also viewed

 

Been to River Bend Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing