We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Stick with the beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southside 815

Southside 815
815 South Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
703-836-6222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 723 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Southwestern, Cajun & Creole, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
DC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stick with the beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Several times I've met friends for dinner at Southside 815; it's convenient, it provides parking (a big plus in Old Town), and the food is good. Even in the dining area, however, on Friday and Saturday evenings, I've noticed, it's hard to hear your party due to the noise from the bar.

This was the first time I'd tried their signature drinks. Stick with the beer. I had the raspberry lemonade, which was too sweet; my compatriots had different drinks including an 815 and something pear-flavored, and no one had a good thing to say about them.

As usual, however, we found on this visit the food was excellent (I had the rainbow trout, which I really enjoyed) and the service also notable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KBA1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    100
    23
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
170 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Disappointingly Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Pros: Fun Mix. Price ranges from 10 dollar sandwich to 22 dollar entree. Food has a nice specialty to it. Fun options. Normal service.

Cons: Food is very bland. The options sound much better in the menu than they taste. The food isn't bad but it is just average. Location is near the outskirts of Alexandria and it isn't as pleasant as center city downtown to walk around.

Summary: Not recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank g-raterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Southern Comfort Food in Northern Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is one of our favorite local sit down restaurants. The menu features many great southern and Cajun styled foods and the service is always good. I highly recommend the fried chicken pasta and the pecan chicken. Both will have you licking your plate! A great place for couples and families alike.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DNeck19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

They had some of the best ribs I have ever eaten. The food was superb and the service friendly and very helpful. If you are ever in Alexandria you must eat here. Not pretentious wi a great selection of beer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jerud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Top Notch Southern Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The food at Southside 815 is absolutely fabulous. Every appetizer, every entree was so fantastic that you will want to order a bunch of dishes and try everything. The gumbo was exactly what I would expect to get in New Orleans. The sweet potato biscuits were amazing. I would never visit Alexandria again without stopping here for a meal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank khotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southside 815 also viewed

 

Been to Southside 815? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing