We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointingly Average”
Review of Southside 815

Southside 815
Ranked #35 of 763 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Southside 815 has been a go to neighborhood restaurant on the South end of Old Town since opening in 1993. Try our delicious Southern menu, Saturday and Sunday Brunch, or catch a game in our bar with 15 Tv's and 17 beers on tap. Come dine where the locals dine.
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Disappointingly Average”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Pros: Fun Mix. Price ranges from 10 dollar sandwich to 22 dollar entree. Food has a nice specialty to it. Fun options. Normal service.

Cons: Food is very bland. The options sound much better in the menu than they taste. The food isn't bad but it is just average. Location is near the outskirts of Alexandria and it isn't as pleasant as center city downtown to walk around.

Summary: Not recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank g-raterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    111
    28
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Southern Comfort Food in Northern Virginia”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is one of our favorite local sit down restaurants. The menu features many great southern and Cajun styled foods and the service is always good. I highly recommend the fried chicken pasta and the pecan chicken. Both will have you licking your plate! A great place for couples and families alike.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DNeck19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

They had some of the best ribs I have ever eaten. The food was superb and the service friendly and very helpful. If you are ever in Alexandria you must eat here. Not pretentious wi a great selection of beer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jerud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Top Notch Southern Food!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The food at Southside 815 is absolutely fabulous. Every appetizer, every entree was so fantastic that you will want to order a bunch of dishes and try everything. The gumbo was exactly what I would expect to get in New Orleans. The sweet potato biscuits were amazing. I would never visit Alexandria again without stopping here for a meal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank khotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, PA
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“plenty of southern food”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wonderful jambalaya pasta with great cajan cream sauce on pasta (not sure about pasta instead of rice, but it was wonderful!) Tuna with remoulade, collard greens (even had the bottle of vinegar over hot peppers to sprinkle over it), mashed regular and sweet potatoes with cheese sauce was overwhelming--a large portion which could have fed 2-3 with my appetite. We shared a bread basket: wonderful corn bread, sweet potato biscuit, but regular biscuit surprisingly tough. Redeeming feature was excellent peace hot pepper jelly--available for purchase, which we did. Nice staff. Street parking.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank zoldiegoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southside 815 also viewed

 

Been to Southside 815? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing