We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Good Choice in Alexandria”
Review of The Warehouse

The Warehouse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Warehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 759 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: So. Fairfax
Transit: Free Old Town Trolley - From King St Metro to Lee Street. Metro bus and Dash Bus stops along King Street
Description: Located in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, the Warehouse is one of the area's most popular restaurants specializing in prime aged steaks and fresh seafood. The superb food is served in a casual but elegant atmosphere that features caricatures of the local gentry on the walls of the historic building. Enjoy their Steak "Pontchartrain" or their famous all-lump crab cakes. Don't miss their very popular Sunday brunch. Enjoy a drink at their antique mahogany bar.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Another Good Choice in Alexandria”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Having dined here a number of times, I have been able to judge this popular restaurant's consistency and various items on the menu. So far, there has never been any issue with either being seated promptly, although Saturday night without reservations would unfairly tax any restaurant, and prompt, polite service. This was the case during my most recent visit. They offer a varied menu , so it is never difficult to find something, whether fish, steak, chicken etc that will please most anyone. On more than one occasion the crab cakes have been excellent as well as the fish. This latest visit had almond crusted Mahi Mahi as the special and it was excellent. The only shortfall was the side of asparagus with hollandaise sauce which was over-cooked & therefore limp rather than crisp. Lastly, be prepared for tight seating with your fellow diners immediately adjacent to your table as it is in some cases in Europe.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwh6776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    190
    57
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Brunch”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was walking around Alexandria with my mom and friend and we were starving. We saw this place and figured it looked good, especially since they were still serving brunch. The service was nice and we were seated right away. I had the crab cake eggs benedict, my friend had an egg platter and my mom had the pulled prok sandwich. We all loved the food and were stuffed when we finished. I would go back again next time I'm down that way.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DRBKLYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected...”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We have been to Alexandria a couple of times before but this one was recommended by a friend. I have to say that there are better places, no doubt at better prices as well.
One of the other reviewers, threekittyinn, had an almost identical experience in that the server was virtually incomprehensible - no doubt English was his third language, but that doesn't help when trying to understand what is on offer.
The food was alright, but nothing special. $80 for a one course lunch for three, two glasses of wine and a beer wasn't good value either.
We were also sat at the back "in the walkway" so didn't feel anything special about the place.
Somewhere better next time please.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baggycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Downtown Dining”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My family and I spent a few days in Olde Town Alexandria recently and had lunch at the Warehouse bar and Grill and it was an outstanding experience. We sat outside at the curbside tables and enjoyed the lovely weather and the delicious food. The service was great and the food was very good. I had the pulled pork sandwiched called "The John West, Jr" and it was delicious with tender pork and a tangy bar-b-que sauce and my wife's salad was outstanding, also. The Warehouse Grill is in a great location in the middle of downtown Olde Town and it will become a new favorite spot for our trips to the DC area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark3735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Nice open floor plan, upstairs, a balcony that looks out on the main street (King) but not alot of tables out there. full bar, but kid friendly. It could get noisy when full. The prices are resonable. We both had fish, I had salmon, well prepared, not raw but not dry. Our server was friendly and the service was timely. I suspect that it might get a little rowdy later at night and might attract a younger crowd, (20 - 30) but this is just a guess as we ate at about six.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Warehouse also viewed

 

Been to The Warehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing