We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Take Out”

Bittersweet Catering
Ranked #137 of 763 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: A local favorite since 1983, Bittersweet has established itself as one of the premiere corporate and social caterers in the metropolitan area. We offer full-service catering as well as an in-house Bakery -- a local Old Town Alexandria tradition.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Take Out”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stopped on a warm March afternoon on the way back to the hotel for a break. Wonderful sandwiches and a hot bar. Easy take out. Yummy cupcakes to top off the meal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RVAGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    57
    28
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never Open!!!!!!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

It's a hard place to visit when it is never open!! The staff seems to like to scratch out the times/hours of operation with an grease pen, and fit it to what they want. Tried three times in a week to visit with no luck..go to Pops instead..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayjon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty S, Owner at Bittersweet Catering, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we're sorry to have missed you. During the week we open at 7:00 am and most days close at 9:00 pm. The exception being Sunday and Monday when we close at 5:00 pm. (we like to let our staff have family time on Sundays and we clean and do maintenence on Monday nights).

We did change our hours of operation back in October so that we could be open later with our Mexico City inspired cuisine.

We hope you'll give us another try and discover why we've been a neighborhood favorite since 1983.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“YUM”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Mexico City-style street food in Alexandria. You can grab and go or eat in (which I did). I had two sopas -- hand-made thick masa tortilla topped with shredded cabbage, avocado and some gently sauteed shrimp. Delicious light dinner.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leenda324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Local flavor and sunny spot”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Sat next to a bunch of locals during brunch. Definitely felt like a cozy neighborhood spot. The high windows give the place an airy feel that's very welcoming. Heck, I came back for coffee to write this review from Bittersweet.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SFOPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bittersweet - Love the Name and the treats”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Bittersweet is a great place to pop in for a sweet or savory! Sandwiches and soups are made fresh; and ieven though there are lot's of people, it feels homey and creative.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyWashBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bittersweet Catering also viewed

 

Been to Bittersweet Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing