We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent cupcakes: Choco, Red Velvet, Dog Biscuit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bittersweet Catering

Bittersweet Catering
Ranked #113 of 748 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: A local favorite since 1983, Bittersweet has established itself as one of the premiere corporate and social caterers in the metropolitan area. We offer full-service catering as well as an in-house Bakery -- a local Old Town Alexandria tradition.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent cupcakes: Choco, Red Velvet, Dog Biscuit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Love this little place in Old Town. Popped in for a couple of cupcakes and found out they had mini cupcakes for my pooch, complete with a little doggie biscuit on top!

Delicious tasting chocolate and red velvet cupcakes and the dog seemed to enjoy his min pupcake as well

Cute little cafe.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrosBahamasBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    57
    28
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Perfect neighborhood cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Everything you could want in a cafe... welcoming staff, comfortable place to chat, relax, or read, and GREAT food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lslaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn Dale
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food Where & Feels Like Community”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I greatly enjoyed the breakfast food, sandwiches, and desserts. The ambience is great; we felt at-home with the staff and fellow customers. Bittersweet has a true Old Town VA vibe.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“New Mexican entrees awesome! Best fish tacos I've ever had! (And cupcakes too!!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

As a regular, I have always loved this place for lunch and brunch and of course CUPCAKES!!
They've had the occasional Mexican entrees which are always good. To my delight, they started a new thing from 5-9pm M-SA recently. They turn the lights down low, have table service and awesome Mexican food! Obviously fresh ingredients---guac was spectacular, salsas were amazing. And my favorite, mole, was as good as it gets. Jicama salad was great and the fish tacos I must say, are the best I think I've ever had! Beef enchiladas and pork quesadillas were tops as well. MUST.GO. THERE!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful neighborhood asset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Having lived in Old Town for nearly 30 years, I continually find great food, good service and reasonable prices at Bittersweet Cafe. Many of us would not know what to do with ourselves at lunch if not for this quick, convenient cafe offering good food and value. I have been a regular there for
probably 20 years and am always impressed by the changes and updates to keep this cafe in the forefront. I often meet, and or, take friends there. Love week-end breakfasts there sitting on the patio when weather permits. Linda, the week-end manager, does a terrific job of greeting and assisting
new, as well as returning, customers and making all feel special. She really hustles and keeps the pace moving. As well as tempting everyone with her favorite cupcakes of the day!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harlow F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bittersweet Catering also viewed

 

Been to Bittersweet Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing