We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good Lebanese/Mediterranean food with questionable service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pita House

Pita House
Ranked #49 of 733 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good Lebanese/Mediterranean food with questionable service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at the Pita House at the end of March. The food was very tasty and reasonably priced. The hummus was excellent. However, our entire dinner came out wrong. When we asked the wait staff to correct our food orders.....We were told to just eat the food and if we did not like it, they would take it back. When my daughter asked for them to redo her gyro (ordered w/ no additional toppings or sauce).... They still bought it back to the table with yogurt sauce and told her she would not enjoy it without the sauce....we just simply couldn't get a plain gyro!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    58
    16
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“hearty mediterranean cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My deep love of mediterranean food takes me back to this restaurant almost every week: the meals are delicious and hearty, the house wine is surprisingly good, and the service is fast and efficient - the atmosphere could probably be better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wakanaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landisville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
202 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice menu and good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Enjoyed our lunch at Pita house. Nice selection and tasty food. Good location and walking distance to many shops and galleries.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Lebanese Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was walking by this restaurant in Old Town Alexandria and decided to give them a try. The staff was very helpful and welcoming as soon as I walked in, and the atmosphere was really nice and comfortable. I was very pleased with the food....it was flavorful and the portions were good. The food was a little pricey, depending on your selection, but I will definitely visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Petiteprn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
150 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pricey but good vegan fare as well as food for carnivores”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

First time visiting, will be back. Went here for the Vegan options with non-vegan friends. The vegetarian sampler appetizer was outstanding. fantastic varietythat included falafel, tabouleh, grape leaves, baba ghanouj, hummus, rice and lentils and one other i can't remember. They have a huge selection of vegan and vegetarian salads, as well as foods for carnivores. the baklava was dry, but overall, the rest of our meals were superb. And the bill was a bit of a shock. that is what keeps this from being an excellent rating. The service is was superb, our waiter was very attentive and described everything we ordered in detail. would def go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pita House also viewed

 

Been to Pita House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing