We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, though a bit expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pita House

Pita House
Ranked #52 of 748 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good, though a bit expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Excellent selection of appetizers and entrees. All the food was well prepared and very good.

Service was pleasant though a bit awkward at times.

All in all a very good dinner though it was a bit on the pricy side.

Recommended

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Truckstop39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    59
    16
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“3 visits in the past year--and we live 300 miles away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

My family loves this place. My husband and daughter found it on a business trip to Alexandria. They received a tip on the King Street Trolley, tried it, and a new favorite restaurant was born.

I have now been there three times in the past year. If we are anywhere near the DC area, we go to the Pita House. The food is excellent, the prices are reasonable, and the service is great.

My teen claims that the lemonade (with rosewater) is top-notch---and she is definitely a lemonade expert.

I love to create my own platter. They serve these fried dumplings stuffed with spicy meat or cheese that are absolutely amazing. We opt for a dessert everytime--and have never been disappointed. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eliza_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Some of the best middle eastern food available”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

They offer sampler platters so you can get a taste of everything. Hummus to die for. Pita not great for takeouts but still acceptable. Friendly, cheap, there or to go!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Coco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Texas
Level Contributor
315 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Not Sure What The Fuss is All About?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

My dining companion suggested this restaurant based on her past experience with Pita House. Our meals were both "just fine" but they clearly did not come close to the quality which other reviewers have raved about. Having eaten Middle Eastern food here in the US and abroad, I have a pretty good sense of the flavors, the traditional combinations, and the variations; from this backgorund, I think my meal was only average. Specifics - the meat in the schwarma was over-cooked and dry, the lamb was not particularly flavorful, and the appetizers weren't "all that." To echo another reviewer's comments, the servers seemed to be less than excited about their jobs.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Asta365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consistently Very Good...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I currently dine at the Pita House about once a month. It is our favorite Lebanese restaurant in greater D.C. and one of our favorites overall in Old Town.

The restaurant is located along a busy stretch of King Street between Washington and Columbus Streets. The dining room is long and somewhat narrow. Decor and furnishings are spartan, but well-positioned lighting and light colors give the restaurant an inviting and pleasant ambiance.

The food is consistently well-prepared and delicious. Favorites include hummus, chicken shawarama salad, chicken shawarama sandwich, fatteh bel djaj, and shish ta wouk. Notable accompaniments include fresh pita bread, nicely-seasoned salads, and a tasty yogurt sauce. Portions are generous. Prices are reasonable -- especially compared with the hyper-inflated menus at numerous other Old Town eateries.

Staff is generally pleasant, prompt, and courteous. Sometimes service can slow noticeably if the restaurant is crowded. Couples, families, and smaller groups can be accommodated simultaneously and comfortably.

Pita House is a very good option to consider for lunch or dinner -- whether one is a resident or visitor.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YankeePeddler1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pita House also viewed

 

Been to Pita House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing