We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best BBQ in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocklands Barbeque & Grilling Company

Rocklands Barbeque & Grilling Company
Ranked #164 of 728 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We've been serving our wood-only barbeque to loyal DC-area fans since 1990. The story starts before that, though: John Snedden started barbequeing whole pigs when he was in college. (Aren't we all glad he changed his plans and did not become a doctor?)
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

While in Alexandria recently, I had the opportunity to try Rocklands. Let's just say that the food was wonderful! The servings were more than ample, and the owner took time to visit every table and find out how things were. He didn't just stop by, but actively engaged us in conversation. I'll be back for sure!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 613Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
350 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Good food, fair price, unexpected location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We ate here with extended family and tried several of the barbeque options (beef, chicken, pork chop, pulled pork) and several different sides (baked beans, cornbread, french fries, sweet potato fries, pecan pie). We were very pleased with the barbeque, I preferred the pulled pork to the beef brisket or pork chop, but all were well received. Barbeque is always a matter of personal taste. The sides were as expected (nothing special) but the baked beans did stand out as very good. The pecan pie was above average, but not exceptional.

We recommend this location and will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jabberwockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
601 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Greasy ribs, tasteless sides”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

After hearing about how great Rocklands was for years, we decided to give it a try. Perhaps this location was not the best to start with. Hidden off of Quaker Lane it had more of an industrial park feel to it. The ribs were a 2 out of 5 stars, very greasy and fatty. The sauces were no help whatsoever and the overall taste had a chemical flavor to it. The mac and cheese rated 1 star and was all grease, like it had been sitting around for days, we only had a couple of bites it was so saturated. The green beans were a 2 star side dish, all the taste had been cooked out them.

The sweet tea was a 3 star tea, but like everything else, was just weak.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoodFood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We enjoyed the food here, but it was a little pricey for the amount they give you. I think they could put a little more on the plates. It was well prepared though and very flavorful. The location was wonderful, and they were nice enough to allow our friend to leave his rental car there so we could go see the White House and other monuments! Thanks guys for that!! You were awesome!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrownHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great barbecue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

If you love barbeque as I do, you must go here. Large quantities, good prices, and great taste! The restaurant is located in a somewhat hard to find place but is worth the search.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocklands Barbeque & Grilling Company also viewed

 

Been to Rocklands Barbeque & Grilling Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing