We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”
Review of The Majestic

The Majestic
Reserve with OpenTable
The Majestic is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 763 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Btw. Alfred & Patrick
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The title says it all.
Went during Alexandria Restaurant Week and ordered their prix-fixe dinner for $35. From the appetizer, mussels were tasty as well as the fried green tomatoes (wish there was more of it). Main course of chicken piccata was average and could be made at home; the seafood stew had good flavor. The desserts were more of a disappointment. Churros were not fully cooked through; chocolate brownie which supposedly came with a "gelato" tasted more like plain ice cream and brownie tasted stale and worse tasting than that from a box. If you've wanted to try this restaurant, it's a good time to go during restaurant week, otherwise, not really worth the money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jofalcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    133
    61
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A friend recommended this spot for a Sunday dinner a few weekend ago when we were in Northern VA. visiting our son. It was a wonderful recommendation. It was a bit of a walk from the waterfront area of Old Town Alexandria but so worth it. My husband and I had the Nana's Sunday Dinner! A delicious BBQ chicken dinner with all the fixings including an amazing berry cobbler! Our son had the grilled skirt steak and his girlfriend the chicken piccata. Both raved theirs was delicious. We all had french press coffee after dinner well worth the few extra minutes.

The decor was nothing fancy however, the food and the wait staff exceptional and we loved that we weren't rushed. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the Majestic Cafe!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margie0524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you want ot pay $24 for meatloaf make yourself at home. Food is homey - but so very pricey. And frankly this food I can cook myself. There's no reason to go out. Popular because the Obamas visited.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FormerChicagoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A favorite”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The atmosphere is always cute and the staff friendly and knowledgeable. Although we love some of the staples like the pate and outstanding meatloaf, it would be nice to see some additional variety on the menu. We used to go bi-weekly but have started to go less since the menu doesn't change that often.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food - Friendly Staff”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I visited The Majestic Cafe on July 18 and we were very happy with the quality of their food and their service. We were promptly seated and only had a short wait before our meal was served. We both bought their three course meal special and were very happy with the selections. My wife had the house salad, chicken and the strawberry shortcake for desert. I had the caesar salad (prepared table side), meatloaf and key lime pie. All of their food was very well prepared and very tasty. The key lime pie was my favorite. One other item of note was that this restaurant serves "still water" instead of tap water at your table. The "still water" did not have any chemical taste like tap water usually has, and to me it made a difference in the taste of the food served. I later learned that this restuarant is favorite of the local crowd and usually reservations are required. I would definitely recommend this restuarant and will visit them again the next time I am in Alexandria.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mlsr753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Majestic also viewed

 

Been to The Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing