We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“My Fav in DC area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My Fav in DC area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place if excellent to stay. You can go to anywhere in the DC, VA area without using your car if you can take the Metro. A very excellent location and the aminities are wonderful. We love this place. We come here almost every year.

Room Tip: Any side actually is pretty good. We used both ends, one close to the railway and far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hdyee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    83
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
130
84
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a great location! Right on the subway, lots of great restaurants within walking distance. Old Alexandria is very historical, beautiful and interesting to visit. Our grandson loves all the sites. We were fortunate to have an opportunity to tour the White House while there. The accomodations were very comfortable for four of us. Cab service easily available. Great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljunkie4648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom, the room was nice and clean and the kitchen was well stocked. The location can't be beat, a five minute walk to the Metro (Costco is only a few stops away). The nearby whole foods was an easy dinner option.
Exercise room was in good condition and it was safe and easy to go running right out the front door.
We had tons of luggage and were early so they were very accomodating in holding our luggage until our room was ready.
The only negative thing we experienced was one crabby staff person who brought the towels to us midweek after housekeeping was "closed" but we had requested a towel change before we set out for the day.
The cold water and lemonade in the lobby when we got home in the afternoons was a nice touch.
We were also disappointed our kids (ages 12 and 9) couldn't participate in the kids activities (even movie night) without an adult present in the room with them.

Room Tip: We enjoyed looking out towards D.C. and could see the Washington Monument lit up at night but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schfamtravel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We reserved 4 suites to accommodate ourselves, our children and all the grandchildren. We parked our cars and never had to use them again til we left. The Metro station was a couple minutes away, and the Old Town Trolley was also near by. The units were all in excellent condition and we had plenty of room for everyone.

Room Tip: Our rooms had a view of the George Washington Masonic Temple - great lit up at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great location. Across the street from the metro trains. Their is a free trolley to take you down King St. to shops and restaurants by the pier. Property was clean and staff friendly. Don't expect to check in early at this property because it is usually always booked. I know most people don't like the timeshare presentation, but we were done in less than an hour and received a $75 Amex gift card. I told the salesperson we purchased our Wyndham timeshare on the resale market and I just recently purchased another one on ebay, she didn't even want to waste her time trying to sell me anything. We used the train to go everywhere. If you plan on being there a week, I would suggest you purchase a weekly pass for trains. After taking the train we walked to the Capital, Smithsonian museums, Holocaust museum, Jefferson memorial, Lincoln memorial, MLK memorial, Roosevelt memorial, Korean memorial, and Arlington cemetery, took us two days to see everything. The only tour we paid for was to George Washington's home in Mt. Vernon, we took a boat cruise (bought tickets on groupons for half price). The only negative for this whole vacation and it was BIG because of the weather! The resort doesn't have a swimming pool. Overall, we had a excellent vacation, loved DC, we will definitely be back to this resort.

Room Tip: Request a high floor facing Kings Street to avoid the train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robhbev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I love Wyndham properties and this one was just a beautiful as the rest. The hotel is on King Street in Old Town Alexandria and it was beautiful. It is perfectly located next to the metro and there is a free trolley that takes you to all the restaurants and shops along the way all the way to the waterfront. AND the parking was free for the week. It was great. The only thing I didn't like was how persistent the timeshare sales people were. They called all day and even knocked on our door a few times.

Room Tip: I would recommend you stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaquetta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linwood, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The location is amazing. A very short walk from the Metro system and a short walk to the Trolley and bus lines. I was concerned by the sound of trains before we got there from other reviews but those people must have been extremely light sleepers with excellant hearing. I only heard two trains the entire time I was in the room. The rooms are large and clean and you can get new towels anytime all you have to do is ask. Friendly helpful staff anytime you have questions. Would definately stay here again. Alexanderia is a clean and safe town from what we saw along King street. The only negatives were weak internet signal, small parking spaces and no pool. We knew about the pool going in so no big deal.

Room Tip: We were in a two bedroom on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank churchlandcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Property: Wyndham Old Town Alexandria
Address: 1757 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Old Town Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Wyndham Alexandria
Alexandria Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing