We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“IT WAS LOVELY!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“IT WAS LOVELY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I love Wyndham properties and this one was just a beautiful as the rest. The hotel is on King Street in Old Town Alexandria and it was beautiful. It is perfectly located next to the metro and there is a free trolley that takes you to all the restaurants and shops along the way all the way to the waterfront. AND the parking was free for the week. It was great. The only thing I didn't like was how persistent the timeshare sales people were. They called all day and even knocked on our door a few times.

Room Tip: I would recommend you stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaquetta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    84
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
131
85
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linwood, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The location is amazing. A very short walk from the Metro system and a short walk to the Trolley and bus lines. I was concerned by the sound of trains before we got there from other reviews but those people must have been extremely light sleepers with excellant hearing. I only heard two trains the entire time I was in the room. The rooms are large and clean and you can get new towels anytime all you have to do is ask. Friendly helpful staff anytime you have questions. Would definately stay here again. Alexanderia is a clean and safe town from what we saw along King street. The only negatives were weak internet signal, small parking spaces and no pool. We knew about the pool going in so no big deal.

Room Tip: We were in a two bedroom on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank churchlandcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you don't want to stay in DC, this is where you want to be! Just a half block to the Metro station and 1 block from Amtrak, you can get to and from anywhere with ease! They area is a mecca of restaurants, bars and shops that are safe to walk to all evening. My only complaint about the neighborhood, is that nearby restaurants cater more to an adult palate than a teenagers so we had delivery pizza 2 nights during the week we were there! Although our room faced the Metro tracks, the windows are so well insulated you couldn't hear the trains. The 1 bedroom deluxe was perfect for my husband, our 15 year grandson and I. The rooms are large with a comfy king bed in the bedroom and a not so comfy queen sofa sleeper in the living room (our grandson is such a sport about sleeping on uncomfortable sofa sleepers), there is plenty of closet space, two bathroom sink (which makes getting ready in the morning so much nicer) and the dining table seats 6.
Staff is pleasant but in spite of them stating on arrival that they no longer have sales people who want to discuss your Wyndham ownership, they called us everyday to invite us to "update our information". I don't understand why timeshare places can't let us enjoy our vacation! We've already paid them a ton of money for ownership and we pay monthly dues. Enough is enough!
We will definitely return to this location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TylersNanaSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Yes, I've come to expect a lot from Wyndham, and this property doesn't disappoint. I do think they need better signage, though, as the entry faces an inner courtyard that is not obvious. We ended up coming in through the sales office, and they said some folks end up going to the Hilton. That said, the room was extremely comfortable, and we enjoyed the jetted tub after long days of sightseeing. The double-pane windows eliminate most of the noise from the trains and Metro. (I enjoyed looking out at them, though, as I'm a big train buff.) No laundry in the room, and only one washing machine, so be aware you might have to wait for availability to get your laundry done, as we did.
With our rooms literally right across the street from the Metro, we quickly adapted to taking it everywhere (get a weekly Metro pass, it's worth it!). Amtrak is a block away, and we also took advantage of it to get to Baltimore. The free trolly will take you down to the waterfront and places in between, but be aware that it stops running at 10 pm, and we walked 16 blocks back one night. Alexandria is a historical delight, and you should also definitely go the the George Washington Masonic Monument at the top of town.
Nell at the concierge station was an absolute doll, and steered us to great places. Go to the Chart House and take advantage of the chocolate volcano dessert for Wyndham guests! The view from the special window table is great!

Room Tip: Unless you're a train buff, you want a room on the side opposite the Metro/Amtrak station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jilara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Thanks for the great Service and Memories! We will be back soon. We make an annual trip to DC and to the Vietnam Wall and found a place that truly makes us feel at home. Great location as well. Thanks again everyone see you next year!

Room Tip: Book early they sell out quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gananoque, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our March Break getaway and it was fantastic! The resort is located right beside the metro and you just cross the street to get on to go to all of the Washington Attractions. The hotel is also located in the old part of DC and you can just walk along or take the trolly to great restaurants and shops along the way. The only disappointment was that they no longer share the pool with the hotel beside it so it no longer has a pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view, not a metro view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

My stay at the Wyndham Old Town Alexandria earns high points. The room was huge and immaculate, and the bed marvelously comfortable. The location can't be beat as it is one block to the Amtrak and the Metro Line. Everything is convenient, and while you can hear the trains, it is not bothersome. King Street has everything you could want (shops, restaurants of all types, historical buildings), including a water front. I will stay here again . . definitely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emhyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Property: Wyndham Old Town Alexandria
Address: 1757 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Old Town Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Wyndham Alexandria
Alexandria Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing