We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Incomplete renovation project” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1757 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Providence,RI
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Incomplete renovation project”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wyndham Old Town Alexandria is located in a great location near Metro and Whole Foods Market. Our stay from 9-29 to 10-06-12 was comfortable despite some incomplete renovations done two years ago. A piece of molding was missing from the master bathroom and the threshold was missing between master bedroom and common area. They should have put in a sliding door and covered window between the master bath and bedroom for convenience of non-couples using the room. There were six of us in two bedroom suite but only enough towel racks for four which made it difficult for two people to hang their towels. Towels are expected to be used more than once since guest are only allowed one towel exchange per week. I later learned that all the TV remotes did not work well. When you want to lower the volume, it would change the channels. When you wanted to change the channel, it would sometimes change the volume etc. I hope Wyndham takes constructive criticism by guest seriously because they have a wonderful front desk staff and location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pRIdenative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    82
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
125
82
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Streamwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had many problems, began, when we arrived, after a long 7-hour travel day, all we wanted was to get into our room and relax. But first we had to check our car with the person who spends time on her sales pitch for time-sharing. I continually told her I was tired and not really hearing what she was saying but she kept on talking. Next, the bath light fixture crackled and sparked when switching on or off. At the end of the day, we called the front desk, explained the problem and wanted to have someone check tomorrow while we were out. The clerk told us to just call back tomorrow and explain again and they will help us. Why would I want to call again when I just did? (Other fixtures were popping through the week as well). Also most all of the staff seemed to be unfamiliar with the area and were from out of town, so they did not know anything about tour buses, recommendations or any other advise. And couldn't find brochures to help either. Except for 1; Shanea was very pleasant and very helpful. A few days later we head out to dinner only to find they were serving wine and cheese, which we would have had, but was too late for us by then. When we asked about it, we were told, "yes we do this every Monday", like of course we would know that. NO, we've never been here before, how would we know? Then the washer & dryer, which said was in each room, was in the hallway of the floor, but was broken. When I called to see when would be fixed he had no idea it was even broken and would check. Called back and said they are getting a new one and all other floors were fine. But come to find out that other floors were broken as well. The day we left, I found the same 'broken' dryer re-plugged in. Makes you wonder. TV info button did not work, WIFI was spotty, No safety rail in shower. No info about town events found out on TV that art fair was going on. The only good thing was it’s close location to the metro, but would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JET J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I guess if you are really in to noise this is your place.
trains running all day and night. Thanks for the wake up call CSX...

The pest that work there trying to sell us timeshares called us daily to waste our time. Geesh! We own 5 already. Leave me alone!!!

The room smelt terrible. I think the previous occupants had fish every night.
The beds were hard. The pillows too small for a king. There are no doors on the master bath.
If you are into watching then have fun.
Two mall rolls of toilet paper, small towels,
did I mention the noise? What?
They said they would have cookies and refreshments available. I guess if you enjoy old coffee, something that looked like warm lemonade and boxed store bought, tooth chipping cookie. Eat up or become a ninja with some new throwing stars.

And Bring MONEY. Their room service is typical, bad and like totally expensive to the max.
They had a little shop downstairs to buy a coke and candy. After I pawned my watch I enjoyed a cola and a three ounce pack of salted peanuts.

Parking ? Oh yes, plenty...not. Rule: Drive a small car. Mid size and larger you are going to get it scratched up and find getting out of it very difficult. The parking lot was very confusing.

The plumbing is extremely loud. Our neighbor was taking 30 minute baths every night. The sound was so loud we had to shut the bedroom door to hear the tv in the next room. What speak up dear??

Room Tip: try to get the rooms facing King Street. Otherwise bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank t p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Luxury accommodations right near all of the DC attractions! Metro is right across the way. We love the underground parking for our motorcycles. Staff was great and very knowledgable regarding DC things to do. Beautifully furnished and full kitchen allowed for breakfast and dinner in, while having lunch out. Suited our budget perfectly! Will absolutely be back!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room. Because of location there are only a few.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Precept123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Location: Perfect for traveling into the district since it so close to the Metro Station;and being located right on King Street it is very convenient to walking (or catching the free trolley) up and down to all the stores and restaurants located in Old Alexandria.

Service: Excellent - our reservation had split dates due to booking an extra date and rather than making us check out they graciously arranged for us to be booked the entire stay in one room. Very polite and friendly staff.

Rooms: We stayed in a 2BR and it was very roomy with a nice kitchen and living room area. Clean and comfortable. Even though the railroad tracks are located right next to the property we weren't bothered by train noise.

Property: Very well maintained and beautiful grounds.

Stay here and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindycollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
242 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was our second trip to this resort in the past ten years. We went back to this location because we remembered how much we liked it and how close it was to the King Street Metro Station. Our primary purpose for this trip was to visit the DC sights we missed on our trip in 2003, so being close to the Metro was key to where we stayed. It's also conveniently located to Mt. Vernon. A short Metro ride and bus transfer and you are there in less than an hour.
The resort has been updated since we last visited. The old decor was very colonial and now it is much more contemporary. Our small one bedroom condo was very clean and comfortable. We were in a "lock-off" unit, so the only complaint we had was we could hear the people in the other part of the lock-off talking and hear their TV. It wasn't too bad though. The smaller side of the lock off has a King bed, decent sized living room and small kitchen. Everything except an oven and we didn't plan to do any cooking anyway, so the oven wasn't needed. The bathroom was adequate. There never seems to be enough counter space in the bathrooms!
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the complimentary coffee in the lobby each morning as we ran out the door to catch the Metro.
Another nice thing about this resort is it's location in Old Town Alexandria. Just walk down King Street to the water front. There are lots of shops and restaurants on King St. And it's just a block away from Whole Foods where we got milk, cereal and goodies to snack on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Metro tracks. It's much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donrosel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, VA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Spent a weekend at Wyndham OTA. Check-in was a breeze, the room was ready and clean. Parking is free but requires going around in an underground lot that is shared with an office building.

The unit was a two bedroom lockoff with a standard configuration -- full kitchen on one side, partial kitchen on the other. Both sided had a bedroom with a door (not like a studio). The big side had a whirlpool tub. Free washers and dryers are on each floor. OTA does not have its own pool but guests have privileges at the adjacent Hilton Garden Inn. Access is with room key cards. The pool itself it tiny -- max load is fifteen and depth is a uniform three feet -- and is only useful for splashing around. Two fitness centers are available -- OTAs and the Hilton's. Both have a treadmills, ellipticals, and one each upright and recumbent bicycle, a full set of dumbbells, exercise balls, mats for stretching and some strength machines. OTA has a good multi-function strength machine. Not ratchety like most I've seen.

Clearly, the main reason for OTA's popularity is its location in Alexandria and proximity to the King Street Metro station. There is a trolley that runs down to the waterfront so dozens of shops and restaurants are easily reached. The King Street Metro station can be reached by crossing one street. Turn right when you reach King Street and stay right around the corner. You'll see a back entrance to the station.

As others have noted, Alexandria's modest Amtrak station is a short walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UmpChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#8 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Property: Wyndham Old Town Alexandria
Address: 1757 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Old Town Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Wyndham Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Wyndham Alexandria
Alexandria Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing