We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what I wanted” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish Market Restaurant

Fish Market Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 748 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Palatka, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Exactly what I wanted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Walking around old town Alexandria I wanted to eat dinner at a place with local character and that's what I found here. The building lists its own history on an upstairs wall as having been a civil war hospital! The atmosphere was laid back. The fried shrimp was just right. Great history overlooking the street and great seafood makes this a place I'd be happy to go back to!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    349
    154
    42
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Our Old Town tradition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I stopped at the Fish Market Restaurant in 2010 on our first date, both of us were widow(er). We decided to revisit this March to celebrate my wife's birthday and have lunch. The restaurant is undergoing some renovations on one side, but it didn't affect our lunch. We decided to split a bowl of lobster bisque and we agreed it was probably the best we've ever had with large pieces of lobster. We both had a glass of pinot grigio and she had fish and chips which included several large pieces of cod. I had the fish tacos and they were very good with plenty of white fish, haddock. We highly recommend the Fish Market Restaurant for a nice leisurely lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank timjc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Level Contributor
260 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Wings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stopped while we were strolling around Old Town Alexandria for a drink and wings. A great place to stop and rest while you're out and about. Not too noisy. The wings were great - not overly breaded or fried and hot a great hot sauce. It made my eyes run and my nose water when I took the first bite. Also a good chardonnay.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank likebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfax va
Level Contributor
137 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“a cant miss in old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

visiting old town alexandria is a treat and eating at the fish market helps make it complete. great raw as well as properly prepared to your desire cooked seafood. . great authentic historic bulding gives the ambiance of historic alexandria. knowledgable wait staff adds to a great place for fish.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jefffairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Philadelphia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Just a bit of a downer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I had a meal at The Fish Market on a recent trip to Alexandria. We were hungry for fish, so we reasoned that this was the place to come. It was a bit difficult to find, since the facade of the restaurant was covered in heavy builder's plastic sheets. We were seated downstairs in a rather dark, gloomy space. The waiter had a hang-dog look about him, as though he had the weight of the world on his shoulders. He took our orders without any problem, although I wondered whether this poor fellow was depressed (Hope he's OK). I ordered a local draft beer, a seafood stew, and a filet of fish sandwich. The beer (a pilsener) had no kick to it and was only 1/2 step above an abominable lite beer----Gads! The stew was good---lots of fish and a tasteful creamy sauce. The fish sandwich was plentiful (took up the whole plate) but was too heavily fried. All in all, the meal was average, and when we return to Alexandria, we will sample another one of the multitude of restaurants on King Street. Someone has to do fish better, I would think.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CodgersontheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Market Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fish Market Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing