We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Wings”

Fish Market Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 754 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Level Contributor
264 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Wings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stopped while we were strolling around Old Town Alexandria for a drink and wings. A great place to stop and rest while you're out and about. Not too noisy. The wings were great - not overly breaded or fried and hot a great hot sauce. It made my eyes run and my nose water when I took the first bite. Also a good chardonnay.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank likebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    352
    156
    42
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fairfax va
Level Contributor
137 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“a cant miss in old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

visiting old town alexandria is a treat and eating at the fish market helps make it complete. great raw as well as properly prepared to your desire cooked seafood. . great authentic historic bulding gives the ambiance of historic alexandria. knowledgable wait staff adds to a great place for fish.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jefffairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Philadelphia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Just a bit of a downer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I had a meal at The Fish Market on a recent trip to Alexandria. We were hungry for fish, so we reasoned that this was the place to come. It was a bit difficult to find, since the facade of the restaurant was covered in heavy builder's plastic sheets. We were seated downstairs in a rather dark, gloomy space. The waiter had a hang-dog look about him, as though he had the weight of the world on his shoulders. He took our orders without any problem, although I wondered whether this poor fellow was depressed (Hope he's OK). I ordered a local draft beer, a seafood stew, and a filet of fish sandwich. The beer (a pilsener) had no kick to it and was only 1/2 step above an abominable lite beer----Gads! The stew was good---lots of fish and a tasteful creamy sauce. The fish sandwich was plentiful (took up the whole plate) but was too heavily fried. All in all, the meal was average, and when we return to Alexandria, we will sample another one of the multitude of restaurants on King Street. Someone has to do fish better, I would think.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CodgersontheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quality has declined”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I used to go here all the time when I first moved to the area. Since then I feel the quality has really declined. I had a fish sandwich, was very very dry. Sandwich didn't come with anything. Just sitting on a plate....

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mgc555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good food, decent prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

we often go to the Fish Market when we want a good fried fish platter, hot spiced shrimp, and oysters. Family friendly, especially if you sit upstairs.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jljmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Market Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fish Market Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing