We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great meal!”
Review of Wharf Restaurant

Wharf Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Wharf Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 757 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Transit: Free trolley from Metro stop to the Wharf and transit stop 1 block from restaurant.
Description: History has been written inside the walls of the Wharf, with its 1790's style architecture featuring original wood columns and beams that are charred black from a Civil War fire. Since 1971, satisfied diners have been heading to The Wharf in Old Town for whole Maine lobster, local soft shell crabs and prime steaks and chops. The restaurant has recently been renovated and remodeled and the menu updated to include many contemporary seafood items along with their traditional Chesapeake Bay creations. Our 2nd floor Dining Room is perfect for Banquets and Private Parties. Can seat up to 60 people.
NEWNAN
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely great meal!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Loved our fillet and crab cake at the Wharf tonight! Delightful service combined with one of the best tasting meals in a long time....the perfect combination! A bit pricey but an excellent choice for special dinner out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bleg1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    263
    95
    33
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Crab Cakes”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Best crab cakes you'll find in NOVA and Brian the bartender should be on Broadway! The lobster pasta dish is wonderful and their oysters are outstanding.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, VA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Impeccable Service-Delightful Ambience”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I stumbled upon this delightful restaurant and weren't ready for a big dinner, so opted for appetizers. The Maryland and New England chowders were delicious, as was the warm bread and soft butter. From the moment we were seated, we had impeccable service (water refreshed, table cleared) and enjoyed the HOT APPETIZER PLATTER: consisting of Shrimp & “Blue” crab fritters (yummy), garlic shrimp (good), baked oysters (great) & fried calamari (just so so). The ambience was terrific-great old building close to the river in Old Town, AX, with brick walls, dim lighting, linens and soft music. I recommend this restaurant to others and we were grateful for a romantic setting - totally invigorated and revived us after a busy day! If we are back in the area, I definitely plan on re-visiting this establishment for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Experience”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Without any recommendations my family of six took a chance on "The Wharf" and were all pleased with our lunch experience. The restaurant is located in the last few blocks near the harbor so higher food prices are normally an expectation. However this wan't the case as I found the menu items reasonable priced for seafood. . I agree with other writers that the waiters were friendly, helpful, but not at all pushy. If you are looking for classic seafood- this is the restaurant for you. I ordered the lunch special which was a lobster and crab mix on a soft bun served with french fries with a light spice. I tasted fried fish from the "fish and chips" order and found the fish was tasty and moist but not at all greasy. My husband and son found the beer menu limited but were happy with their selection. The ordered items were quickly served. after we cleaned out the dish of sliced sourdough bread and simple soft butter- all good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank magnolia387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
139 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Classic seafood restaurant”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The star at the Wharf is the variety of fresh seafood offered in many different preparations. The restaurant and menu probably has not been updated in many years, but that is okay. It is a classic seafood style restaurant in a seaside town. Service is quite good - staff is friendly and attentive but not overbearing. I highly recommend the Bourbon Chocolate Pecan Pie!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FranC-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wharf Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wharf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing