We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious, Delectable Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wharf Restaurant

Wharf Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Wharf Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 752 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Transit: Free trolley from Metro stop to the Wharf and transit stop 1 block from restaurant.
Description: History has been written inside the walls of the Wharf, with its 1790's style architecture featuring original wood columns and beams that are charred black from a Civil War fire. Since 1971, satisfied diners have been heading to The Wharf in Old Town for whole Maine lobster, local soft shell crabs and prime steaks and chops. The restaurant has recently been renovated and remodeled and the menu updated to include many contemporary seafood items along with their traditional Chesapeake Bay creations. Our 2nd floor Dining Room is perfect for Banquets and Private Parties. Can seat up to 60 people.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
131 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious, Delectable Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Three of us popped in around 7:00 PM on a Saturday evening, without reservations and luckily were seated right away. Within minutes there was a line. Reservations would be a good idea.

Service was excellent, quick, attentive and often. Most important, the food was outstanding. I had the very best New England clam chowder I have ever eaten. This was followed by jumbo lump crabcakes which were tied for first on my list. My wife and daughter were equally pleased with their choices. In particular, the Vidalia onion soup was a hit. We will be coming back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiveDog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    253
    91
    30
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
194 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Five Great Meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a party of five, were warmly greeted and seated quickly. The menu had several good looking dinners, but four of us took the nightly features while one ordered from the menu. All meals were top quality and showed creativity by the Chef. The atmosphere was friendly, service was great even though the restaurant was crowded, and we had a rewarding night. I recommend the Wharf to one and all.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bergbahnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

How is this for a welcome: We were seated at our table and the first thing out of the server's mouth was to ask if we had seen his lost check pad. No greeting, no welcome...just a request from the server to spend the beginning of our evening out searching for something he had misplaced. Minutes later he reappeared and - oops - he found it. Finally. Now maybe we can order our drinks and dinner. Once again, service came up short. I had to request bread when I noticed the other tables around ours had some but we didn't. Once our meals were served, the server never showed up again to ask if our food was okay or if we wanted/needed more drinks (my husband did, but oh well) or anything else. We never saw him again until the check arrived. As for the food, my crab cake was okay -- not exceptional. My husband said his steak was average. Bottom line: We were not impressed with the food nor the service. We also didn't like feeling pushed to leave. Spend your money elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CAP1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjsmithnj
Level Contributor
136 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“So good we did lunch two days in a row!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Everything was fantastic from appetizers to dessert. House wine was decent and reasonable. Service was consistent, our server the first day seemed quiet, the second day the server was very outgoing and friendly. Both were competent and helpful. Oysters and clams on the half shell were very good, seafood chowder was excellent. House salads were very good and just big enough to work well. Mixed scallop, crabmeat and shrimp dish was excellent, cashew crusted Mahi Mahi was very good and served in an excellent white sauce served over spinach. Scallops served over pasta with sun dried tomatoes and garlic sauce was excellent. Chocolate dessert was great, only fault I could find was the cappuccino was actually a little weak, I might have gotten a poorly prepared cup, but certainly not a reason to avoid. We ate outside both days since it was almost 70 degrees (in December no less), but did wait for a table at the bar inside, also nice and the restrooms were very clean. I will be back on my next trip to Alexandria.

Helpful?
Thank cjsmithnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“High Hopes Poor Results”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had higher expectations for The Wharf. After we perused the menu and ordered our entrees, everything seemed to be going well. The whole Maine lobster and filet mignon was delicious. Our server was attentive and kind. Then at the end of the meal when the check came we realized the reality. Our coupon, which is a wonderful gesture by any restaurant, proved to be unusable because we did select the correct entrees. To make maters worse, the manager of the restaurant offered us nothing except "there is nothing I can do". Its a shame when a restaurant puts out an offer to locals in the area and when those loyal few visit the restaurant, they slap them in the face and remind them why not to eat at tourist-traps. We will not return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjplax3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wharf Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wharf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing