We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pasta”
Review of Il Porto

Il Porto
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Porto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 759 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: N.Lee
Transit: King Street Metro stop, about 16 blocks away from the restaurant. Free Trolley shuttle from King Street Metro to the restaurant
Description: When you think Italian ...Think IL PORTO!! Old Town"s First Italian Restaurant in the Heart of Old Town's Historic Seaport District. Serving Fine Italian Cuisine since 1973. Let the Italian flag wave you into the restaurant and soon you'll discover why we have so many satisfied customers around town and around the globe.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great pasta”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

A nice old town restaurant, but needs some updating. Much of the decor is still around from the 80's. The pasta is fresh and consistently good, however, and wine prices are very reasonable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaIntrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    110
    44
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food, ambiance”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We picked il Porto over the other Italian place on King St. and got very lucky. Service was very good and the food was excellent. I had Eggplant Parmigiana, which rivaled my wife's but needed a better sauce(note to chef: use some wine to take the acidity of your sauce down) . My wife had a good Manicotti. Thw wine list is pricey but good. Definitely better than the usual places in tourist haunts.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CABozeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and good times!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Food was excellent, I suggest the Pollo Siciliano and the Mussel appetizer. The staff gave excellent recommendations and really knew the menu and drink/wine list. We were there during a severe thunderstorm and all of the power went out. The staff were quick to check on each table and to escort each person down the stairs with flashlights once they were finished. I will definitely go back!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeachBumChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Just Right”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My daughter and I wandered into this restaurant by chance one Saturday night. It has an old fashioned feel that we enjoyed. The food was good and the waiter attentive. It was just what we were looking for. I would eat there again in a minute

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PB62757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pasta!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by 2 strangers so we tried it. The pasta is homemade. Very good. Give it a try!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MESanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Porto also viewed

 

Been to Il Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing