We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small portion dish, over-priced, taste bland, won't come back”

Two Nineteen Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Two Nineteen Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #133 of 757 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Fairfax Street
Transit: King St. Metro [
Description: Housed in a historic 19th century townhouse blocks from the waterfront, 219 has for 40 years been a beacon for the most authentic gourmet creole experience possible outside of greater New Orleans. Executive Chef Marcus Olson has taken things one step further and introduced a truly unique gourmet butcher experience--USDA Prime steaks dry-aged 21 days in house and cut to order to your exact specifications. Your meal is complemented by a 750+ bottle wine list and a massive whiskey selection. We offer private dining rooms in addition to our elegant main floor, and offer tasting menus custom-tailored to your preferences. After your meal, you can unwind in our spacious second story lounge and be entertained by world class blues music most nights of the week. Whether your taste runs towards alligator and etouffee, or to succulent aged steaks, we invite you to rediscover your favorite Old Town institution.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“small portion dish, over-priced, taste bland, won't come back”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I really don't want to rate this place poor as I guess the servers were trying. However, honest rating makes this website unique.

We stopped by this place without doing research as we were in a rush to visit a museum in D.C. We had Jambalaya and the portion was really small compared to other restaurants with the same price. I also thought the crawfish omelette may taste extraordinary. It was just a regular omelette with small piece of crawfish in between and with yellow creamy sauce on top. Nothing special for the price paid for. Also, the servers have ego-issue to serve customers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairey_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    46
    22
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Classy and relaxing”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

At the recommendation of the cigar store owner next door I went to the cigar bar and had a most pleasant evening. Although a bit pricey the wine was wonderful and the leather sofas were welcome after a long day walking thru museums. Jamie was an excellent server and remembered my name throughout the evening. If you don't like cigars you should still give this a try- I lived in south Louisiana many years and as others have said the setting was reminiscent of the older homes converted to restaurants in New Orleans. I will be back!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kid07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So much room for improvement”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I went here for a private function and service was not that great. The waitress didn't know who ordered what and overall instructions were just not followed, for instance if you request melted butter the butter should be melted and you should not be given butter in the shape of flowers. Also if you on eat meat no meat should be in your food as you requested. I got the steak well done, but noticed that it was too chewy and tough and thought it was because I ordered well done but didn't want to really complain an make a scene at the event. Not to mention my mashed potatoes tasted like boxed potatoes, they were running towards my steak, they couldn't have even bothered to get real russet potatoes for the mashed potatoes, my collard greens were not in better shape. The salad was good though, that seemed to be made fresh. And the decor was very nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellover617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, mismatched wine list, smelly cigar bar nearby”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our food truly was delicious. We wanted to order wine, but had great difficulty pairing our meals with wines on the list. Did they buy another restaurant's wine cellar? Our server was ok, but the hostess was the least friendly welcoming person!
Nice open air idea, but we could still smell the neighboring cigar bar, despite the best efforts of the ceiling fans.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cigar Lounge & Cocktails”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We love this place! We have lived in VA for just a year now and have frequented 219's cigar lounge more than anywhere else. The lounge is great with big, comfy couches and a television (although who needs that when you have good friends, cigars, and drinks!). You can order food from the restaurant downstairs and they'll bring it up to you. We had the lobster mac n cheese one night and it was delish. The bar is extremely well stocked and the bartenders are top notch. They make outstanding classic cocktails but will also create something unique for you if you vaguely tell them what you're in the mood for. There is live music on the same floor and it's usually pretty good, although it can get a bit loud in such a small area. We always have such a good time here and usually bring our out of town guests. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rlwags13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Nineteen Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Two Nineteen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing