We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, Great service !”

Two Nineteen Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Two Nineteen Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #127 of 759 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Fairfax Street
Transit: King St. Metro [
Description: Housed in a historic 19th century townhouse blocks from the waterfront, 219 has for 40 years been a beacon for the most authentic gourmet creole experience possible outside of greater New Orleans. Executive Chef Marcus Olson has taken things one step further and introduced a truly unique gourmet butcher experience--USDA Prime steaks dry-aged 21 days in house and cut to order to your exact specifications. Your meal is complemented by a 750+ bottle wine list and a massive whiskey selection. We offer private dining rooms in addition to our elegant main floor, and offer tasting menus custom-tailored to your preferences. After your meal, you can unwind in our spacious second story lounge and be entertained by world class blues music most nights of the week. Whether your taste runs towards alligator and etouffee, or to succulent aged steaks, we invite you to rediscover your favorite Old Town institution.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food, Great service !”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were there as a small group on a Saturday night. All other restaurants had long wait times and we took a chance on this one. Outside seating was full so we were seated inside. Service was superb. Strawberry salad, Seafood gumbo, and crab cakes were excellent. Will visit there again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moksha51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    46
    22
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

When my husband and I dined here after Christmas, we were surprised that this Cajun restaurant was run by ...non-Cajuns. Also, we were the only patrons in the dining room which also made me nervous. To be fair, they were preparing for their live jazz set upstairs, but it's in the bar area and there were lots of smokers there so we opted to dine in the dining room.

I ordered sea bass which was ok. Could've use some sauce for flavor. My husband ordered shrimp and grits which was really good actually. I spent our entire meal jealous.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank VA_Newlywed_0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“No food - just good music”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Upstairs from 219 Restaurant is the Basin Street Lounge which is a great place to enjoy some jazz, have a drink and enjoy a cigar if you are so inclined. The music was wonderful. Getting to be harder and harder to find good music in a relaxing and inviting atmosphere. This was a wonderful end to the evening - - stayed out later than we had anticipated because we were having such a great time! Highly recommend a visit while in Alexandria.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeysuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dinner in Alexandria”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We were on a hunt to find a menue that met the tatse buds for a party of eight.
The "SEA BASS" on the menue clinched this restaurant as our choice.
We ate on the sidewalk and had a great meal on a lovely Oct night.
The service was good, the waiter attentive and had a sense of humour.
We all enjoyed eating on the sidewalk and bantering and watching the pass-er-buyers.
The bill came to $350.00 which included drinks, tip and coffee.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank princer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“an old time favorite.....”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We've been coming to 219 for a long time and absolutely love it. We never have dinner, so I can't comment on the food, but for live music it's one of the best in Old Town, especially when there's jazz and blues. My favorite is to sit and have cigars and cocktails in the back of the bar by the fireplace in the fall/winter. It can get crowded later in the night, and the space is long and narrow, but we always find it's a pretty laid back crowd, young and old. Sitting upstairs is kinda cool sometimes too. Definitely recommend 219.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaraFitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Nineteen Restaurant also viewed

 
Alexandria, VA
 

Been to Two Nineteen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing