We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Essential service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Eve

Restaurant Eve
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Eve is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 733 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: King Street
Transit: King Street Metro. Trolley it from King Street Metro- The free trolley will operate seven days a week from 11:30 a.m. to 10 p.m. Approximately every 20 minutes, riders can board at the King Street Metro, near the Waterfront, or at one of many other stops. The closest stop to the restaurant is one block away, at King and St. Asaph Streets.
Description: Restaurant Eve has one intention: to bring everything together in perfect harmony-ingredients, cooking techniques, presentation, and that ephemeral, indescribable characteristic that we call soulfulness. We purchase from farms that share our values of quality and sustainability, and showcase the best hand-fed, farm-raised, organically grown bounty Virginia and the surrounding countryside have to offer. Herbs and fruits are gathered from our own garden and everything on our menu has a story, every ingredient is special. From the various offerings of house-made products (which include 7-9 various breads baked daily and artisanal cheeses); to the roster of craft cocktails, by cocktail authority Todd Thrasher; to our carefully chosen ingredients, everything signals a seriousness and reverence for the farmers, crafters, and all the culinary professionals who wish to bring you beautiful food. Restaurant Eve, named after the husband and wife duo's first child, is located in Old Town, Alexandria, listed by many travel sites as one of the most romantic towns in America, 10 minutes from Washington DC, Restaurant Eve is housed in a late 1800's historic warehouse that has been converted into a charming and sophisticated destination. The cobblestone path leading to the restaurant's entrance is lined with candles that set the tone of what is to come. Inside, the space is simultaneously stylish, cozy and refined-a place where special occasions are fondly remembered.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
271 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Essential service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I like this place. I do. Interesting reconstructed this, and, strained and reintroduced that made things like the amazing and interesting Bloody Mary, as an example, something you've never had before. Trust me on this one.

The bouillabaisse was tasty. The atmosphere, worth it's weight in gold but the kicker is the service:

You can stop anyone working there in his or her tracks and you simply won't find (at least not easily) another establishment that houses so many knowledgable and NICE AND PERSONAL staff. You won't.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MASTERPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    71
    55
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

we had high expectations for our dinner at Restaurant Eve. A company of five, having made reservations weeks in advance for the tasting menu, we were treated with mild-mannered indifference and a menu that was far from inspiring. The reputation of the restaurant was not verified by our experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlingtonian2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fine dining, locally sourced, Southern casual elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Unobtrusive service. Food never disappoints. Innovative but not strange dishes. Tasty and inventive cocktails. Our favorite celebratory restaurant in the DC area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and food, but I wish it had been hot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I really wanted to give Restaurant Eve's Tasting Room a higher rating. But, there were just too many slip ups, for a restaurant of this caliber, for me to give them such high marks.

When we were being shown to our table, and I asked to be seated away from the entrance, the "greeter" acted dumbfounded. She fumbled for a few moments and then offered a more private table (they knew before hand that it was my wife's birthday). I would have overlooked this ineptness, but the greeter never pulled the original table out so that my wife could scoot out to go to the new table (after she had done so to seat her). I waited a moment, as the greeter walked toward the new table, and reached down to pull the table out myself. Maybe this is nitpicking, but I took it as a sign of an inexperienced staff.

The other complaint, and it was consistent, was the temperature of the food. Each course (being in the Tasting Room, we did the 5 course menu, with wine pairings, leaving it to the chef to select) was merely lukewarm (when they should have been hot). It was as if they had been prepared before hand, and had been sitting in the kitchen, but not even under a heat lamp. I don't think that was the case, but I expected (and have experienced better prepared tasting menus in other upscale establishments) something other than barely warm dishes.

On the positive side, the waitstaff was extremely professional, balancing their friendliness with just the right amount of information (for us) about the food and wine pairing (both of which were excellent and perfectly matched). This balance is very difficult to achieve and I applaud the servers for their sensitivity and demeanor.

This is still the best restaurant in Old Town Alexandria and well worth a special occasion visit, or for anyone wanting a truly fine dining experience. More so if they work out the kinks at the front desk and find a way to get hot food to the tables.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefChic
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This Place is Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The entire staff was friendly and efficient. The server was very knowledgeable about the menu and the wine list. The food was wonderful; some of it locally sourced, and generous portions for an upscale restaurant. I like that the dessert menu is seasonally driven with lots of fruit based and light options for the summer. The atmosphere is very nice without feeling stuffy, and attention is paid to even the smallest of details. This place is a winner!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChefChic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Eve also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Eve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing