We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very chic Vermillion......”

Vermilion Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Vermilion Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 754 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fayette St.
Transit: King St. Metro Station Using the King Street Trolley, get off at the Fayette St. Stop coming in either direction.
Description: Vermilion features Chef William Morris' menu of Contemporary American cuisine. Complimenting Chef Morris' menu is Vermilion's wine list, named one of the top wine lists in the country by Restaurant Hospitality Magazine. Combining a charming location in Old town Alexandria with stylized design and atmosphere, Vermilion represents a bit of downtown sophistication: from the exposed brick in the upstairs dining room to the overstuffed pillows in the lounge downstairs, Vermilion holds something for all tastes.
Lancaster, Pa.
Level Contributor
542 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Very chic Vermillion......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a lovely and chic restaurnt in the 1100 block of King St., in Old Town Alexandria. Lovely gas lamps welcome you inside and then the fun begins.

Service was excellent here, the food was very good and so artiistically presented. The wine list is large with many old and new offerings you will be pleased with.

I can recommend this fine testaurant to you for your dining pleasure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LancasterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    127
    42
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sherwood park, Alberta
Level Contributor
292 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“NIce restaurant - food is slighly better than average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We came here for brunch on Sunday. The pea soup is extremely good, with a nice light taste that you typically do not get in any of the pea soup derivatives. However, the rest of the food was merely average or only slightly better than average.

The prices are slightly higher, but is typical of prices in the Old Town District.

I would rate this place more like 3.5, but the very good service we got takes it up to 4.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank howho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had dinner here last night and it was a wonderful meal in every way. Nice welcome when we arrived. We asked for a window table when we were seated and they politely explained the available one was reserved. One course later the manager explained another window table was available due to a cancellation and they graciously moved us. We had the tasting menu which was a good choice because it gave us the opportunity to try the fish and beef entrees. Each course was delicious and beautifully presented. Some may find the service slow but we prefer time to enjoy a meal rather than be rushed through it. For a special occasion I highly recommend Vermilion. We have rarely enjoyed a dinner as much.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JWM0143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our first visit back since a recent change in chef: this time for lunch. The menu was similar to before: a short list of starters, salads, sandwiches, and mains, with three lunch combination options. Despite an early arrival to an almost-empty restaurant, service was painfully slow: 30 minutes before first course, then another 20 minutes before main, with long waits for check and payment.

The food was good, but menu choices not quite so appealing as before. The best of four dishes was a lovely cold pea soup with cocoanut milk, herbs, and shrimp.

A good choice for a leisurely lunch, but not a quick bite: no longer at the top, but still one of many fine Old Town restaurants.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartsoSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food, Bit Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Had a catching-up dinner with girlfriends here. Vermilion has excellent food, though it's a bit on the pricey side. I opted for the beet sald, which was just divine. Both friends had steak and raved about the plate. Dessert - Nutella Cheesecake - was good, though I regret not ordering the S'more Brownie Sundae. Next time, perhaps. The waiter was very nice, took great care of us, even letting me order a glass of the wine from the tasting menu (and yes, it did pair beautifully with the beet salad).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCAGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vermilion Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Vermilion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing