We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Balance Between Traditional and Americanized Cuisine”
Review of House of Dynasty

House of Dynasty
Ranked #53 of 755 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
278 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Good Balance Between Traditional and Americanized Cuisine”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Reading over the many positive reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to give this place a try for lunch. We found a well decorated interior with attentive, amiable staff. The menu offered both traditional Chinese dishes and Americanized items. I ordered a Chicken and Broccoli lunch combo. Simple, yet well executed. The spring roll was fairly good as well. The one problem was the Chow Mein my sister ordered, which seemed to be drowning in sauce. Prices were very reasonable. If we ever find ourselves in this area again, we will come back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kirbyfan1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    44
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
356 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I've been going there for years and always come away happy and full. The hot and sour soup is wonderful and the atmosphere has a family and local feel to it - not a fast food chinese take out place with a table or two but more of a sit down restaurant with solid service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jorgensen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Tablecloths”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A terrific restaurant for the whole family, to celebrate special occasions as well as just a night out.
One of the very few Chinese restaurants in our area that have elegance, table linen, excellent service and delicious dishes.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChriChri7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“High-class quality”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I eat here regularly, in part for the high-quality low-price equation. Dining in is a noteworthy experience among Chinese restaurants, with a professionally attentive wait staff and sorbet between courses. Takeout is equally noteworthy for the obvious quality control measures, such as checking that every item ordered is found in your bag before you walk out the door.

Other than Peking Duck, it is hard to find better food anywhere in the area at any price. House of Dynasty then offers this top quality food at a fair price affordable for everyday dining. Lunch combo specials are a real bargain.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“First Class for Over 20 Years”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have been coming to House of Dynasty for over 20 years, practically since it opened, and have never had a disappointing experience. Additionally, I have carried out many times over the same period with the same excellent results. I have never found another Chinese restaurant that meets my expectations set by this wonderful establishment. On the weekends, if you don't have a reservation you may have to wait a few minutes to be seated.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Dynasty also viewed

 

Been to House of Dynasty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing