We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Found the Locals There” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murphy's Grand Irish Pub

Murphy's Grand Irish Pub
Ranked #5 of 748 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Murphy's Grand Irish Pub is located in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. This authentic Irish Pub was opened by friends and family with a passion for their Irish heritage and the desire to bring traditional Irish food and entertainment to their community at affordable prices. Since 1978 people have been meeting at Murphy's to enjoy hearty meals and an energy and atmosphere that puts everyone who enters in a good mood. Enjoy nightly Irish entertainment with no cover charge, lively Trivia Nights with exciting prizes, sporting events on multiple flat screen tvs, daily food and drink specials, and other events happening year round. Our second floor is available for private parties and events for up to 120 people and we are happy to work with groups to personalize the experience to ensure that all guests have a memorable time.
Thunderbolt
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Found the Locals There”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went for a late-night meal. The late-night menu was actually quite extensive. I had fish and chips, and I've not had better, except possibly at the Friar's Delight in London. The singer was very good, and it was clear that except for us, it was a local crowd. They sang and clapped along cheerfully. The prices are very reasonable. We'll go again when in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tbolt96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphysparties, General Manager at Murphy's Grand Irish Pub, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello tbolt96,

Murphy's Irish Pub wants to thank you for the opportunity to serve you while you were in the Alexandria area. We work hard to bring our wonderful guests a memorable experience, os it's always great to hear that we are doing a good job.
Please stop by for some live music the next time you are in town, Murphy's offers live music seven nights a week with no cover charge to get in your way.

Thanks again and have a wonderful fall.

Warm Regards,
Kenny Mitchell, General Manager, Murphy's Irish Pub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    215
    99
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
pa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you are looking for good pub grub this is the place. Awesome corn beef & cabbage, my teenage son loved the fish& chips. And my wife loved the shrimp app! Cold beer & the service was excellent! Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jjimjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphysparties, General Manager at Murphy's Grand Irish Pub, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hello jjmjake,

Thank you for taking your family to our restaurant, Murphy's Irish Pub. We are always happy to receive feedback and see where we are heading and where we can improve.

Also, thank you for taking the time from your schedule to write such a nice review.

Have a wonderful labour day weekend.

Warm Regards,

Kenny Mitchell. General Manager, Murphy's Irish Pub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The perfect Irish Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Loved the feeling when you walked into this place!! Always fun to visit an Irish Pub while on vacation. The food was delish and the service was on point. Prices are more then reasonable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphysparties, General Manager at Murphy's Grand Irish Pub, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi Nicole M,

I want to thank you for taking time from your schedule to post a few nice words regarding your recent visit to Murphy's Irish Pub here on TA.

I am glad to read that you found the food be be "delish" and at the right price, and the service was spot on, too.

Make sure to reach out to me if you plan to be in the Alexandria area in the future so i can meet you thank you in person.

Warm Regards,

Kenny Mitchell. General Manager, Murphy's Irish Pub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The Sunday brunch here was awesome. The bloody marys were very good and the blueberry pancakes were yummy. Great atmosphere and the service was friendly and fast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphysparties, General Manager at Murphy's Grand Irish Pub, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi Katthorn,

Thanks a million for your courteous review here on TA and also for stopping by our restaurant, Murphy's Irish Pub, recently.

You know, we have been using the bloody Mary mix now for over 10 years. It's a secret receipt that has never changed. In all those years we have only had positive feedback.

Thanks again for the feedback and enjoy the remainder of the summer months.

Warm Regards,

Kenny Mitchell. General Manager, Murphy's Irish Pub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great family pub food on King St without breaking the bank”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Lucked into finding this place just walking down King St. Was looking for just this kind of place to celebrate our sons 16 yr birthday. He wanted a burger and some wings and Murphy's did not disappoint. All of our food was great from our chicken wings appetizers to our burgers and the fish & chips. Great for dinner while not breaking the bank. Great setting for a family celebration. Waitress was very good and gave us pletny of attention

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphysparties, General Manager at Murphy's Grand Irish Pub, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi Ken. W,

The owners, management and entire staff of Murphy's Irish Pub wants to wish your son a belated happy 16th birthday. We are glad to hear that our food selections met you families appetite and everything went well during your visit to our restaurant.
Our goal is for every single guests experience at Murphy's Irish Pub to be a memorable one from food to service to cost to atmosphere, weather your with your family, friends or on your first date we are here to serve our guests and help make their day a little brighter.

Thank you for your kindhearted review and stopping by our restaurant.

Warm Regards,

Kenny Mitchell. General Manager, Murphy's Irish Pub,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's Grand Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Murphy's Grand Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing