We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Best Indian in Alexandria VA and the DC Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dishes of India

Dishes of India
Ranked #49 of 729 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Alexandria VA and the DC Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is the best Indian food in Alexandria VA. Sure it is in a strip mall next to a Subway, but the food is delicious. The spices are a perfect blend of heat and flavor. The service cannot be beat. I always order to go and the wait staff are friendly and kind. I order the vegetarian rice dishes and these are the best I have ever had. I have been visiting Dishes of India since 2000 and never had a bad meal. If you want flavorful and delicious Indian food, look past the strip mall location and walk down the stairs to Indian food paradise.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyKatOBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    44
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
JMFPEDS
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our favourite spot in Alexandria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We have been eating here ever since it opened, and have never had a bad meal, eating everything from salmon to beef to lamb to vegetarian, done tandoori or with a sauce, and still go once or twice a month; with everything well prepared, and a variety of options, the food never gets stale

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JMFPEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great buffet with kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Downstairs in a small mall, but worth the trip. My teenage kids love the buffet. Excellent food ready when you arrive and great service. Live nearby and this offers a great alternative to other fast dining choices. The buffet offers great chicken and sometimes shrimp that we all enjoy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron22212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Better than you'd think”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Okay, this Indian restaurant is in a strip mall. Okay, it's not only in a strip mall but it is down a level from the Chinese restaurant along the sidewalk.Wait. Wait. Come back. Try it. Honestly. This is a very nice place, even a little upscale, and the food is terrific!

I've eaten here 4 or 5 times, always for the lunch buffet. The dinner prices are a bit steeper, so I can't say how dinner is. BUT, the lunch buffet is really quite nice. The atmosphere is nice. Thick cloth tablecloths and napkins. The waiters in suits & ties. Goblets are filled with ice water as soon and you are seated and you get very nice service for a buffet lunch. This is a smaller place, so there is not a HUGE buffet, but there are a half dozen entrees plus wonderful naan and Indian rice pudding. Yum! If you like Indian, or you want to bring someone who MIGHT like Indian, try this. It is not TOO hot, but there are curries and chutney to zip up the heat if that's how you like it. My daughter is a vegeterian and she LOVES this place. They have a couple of chicken entrees and usually a large salmon if you're not a vegetarian, but either way the food is very, very tasty.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanieBeanieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
246 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Some of the best Indian in the DC area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We usually go to out standard Raaga restaurant on route 7, which has a great buffet in a bright airy room. But we thought we would try Dishes of India bars on Trip Advisor. We soon realized we had been here before, maybe 10 years ago, you must descend to a lower level through mirror steps lines with mirrors, and maybe that is the only downside, steps and the room is a little darker, but the buffet is one notch better than Raaga. All buffet items were great and I always have trouble remembering exactly what they were. My wife also said better then Raaga, but don't cross that one off your list. Nice salads, and something I don't normally like, great vegetable dishes. I do remember the Sikh style ground chicken kebob meat as a standout and the green beans in a coconut curry, but it was all good. I am adding several photos. Nice price for lunch buffet.

Helpful?
Thank GormandizerAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dishes of India also viewed

 

Been to Dishes of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing