We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A top notch secret with a great dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dishes of India

Dishes of India
Ranked #50 of 728 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A top notch secret with a great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

You'll be asking, "A shopping center?", and "A basement?" ... You should answer yourself "yes". Dishes of India has good solid Indian food. Each dish is quality, the sauces are excellent if a little too generous, and the meats are expertly prepared. The chicken, in particular, is prepared beautifully here. The Chicken Tikka is a simple dish but it is done so perfectly that it couldn't be done better.

Added to the excellent food, what really stands out is the service. The staff at Dishes of India are all seasoned professionals; there is no anxiety, just rapid, efficient, friendly service. They are unobtrusive when you don't need them, and they are there when you need them. Everyone from the manager to the busboy knows the menu and can and will get anything you need. They'll explain the dishes, recommend, advise, or not as needed.

The downside of this place is it in a beautifully decorated basement, but still a basement. No windows, no view at all. However, the staff an the food make up for it completely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VicBrennig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    44
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Some of the best Indian food in the DC area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Tucked away downstairs in the BelView shopping center just off the Memorial Parkway (about a mile outside the Alexandria City limits....start south on Washington street and it turns into the Parkway) the restaurant is a bit hard to find but well worth the effort. A nice variety of chicken, lamb, and vegetarian dishes that are superbly cooked, seasoned and served. The atmosphere is casual and you can actually have a conversation with friends. Their popularity has grown so you might need reservations if you want to dine at prime time on Friday or Saturday night. Don't miss the Buttered Chicken!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit, Mo
Level Contributor
498 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 996 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is in a shopping center so don't expect a lot of atmosphere but you will get some great Indian food. The food is reasonably priced and it is very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank postrawb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine
Level Contributor
220 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have to admit that I was a bit skeptical when I had to ask down into a basement just to get into the restaurant, but from there it was a pleasant surprise. The food was very good. The naan was a little crispy for my tastes, but the main entrees were excellent. I had the aloo saag, and it more than met my expectations. The rice was cooked perfectly, and I thoroughly enjoyed my mango lassi as well. The waiters were friendly and accommodating. Overall, a recommended eatery.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank virginiagamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I wandered into this nondescript restaurant located in a small Alexandria strip mall and was very pleased to enjoy one of the best Indian meals I've had outside of India! Suman (manager or owner) was very friendly and made an excellent recommendation for a shrimp curry dish.

Highly recommend you try it! I wonder if they deliver . . .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dishes of India also viewed

 

Been to Dishes of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing