We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dishes of India

Dishes of India
Ranked #75 of 752 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Tripadvisor rates this restaurant as the best Indian Restaurant in Alexandria. While the service was very good the food was not.We visited during the Sunday Buffet. The food had way too much color added to almost all dishes. The color was so strong it went all the way through the Tandoori Chicken. Very average and nothing exceptional. I did not go back for seconds. Extremely disappointed in the taste. We saw a table that had ordered Mango Lassi. The color of their drinks were neon orange. They really need to rethink all of the artificial color added to their food and think about the flavor instead.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shutupandlisten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    49
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always great food”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is my go-to place for take out Indian food. It never disappoints. Although a bit pricey, the food is just so yummy!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank doglover5856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3,243 reviews
1,363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,883 helpful votes
“Awesome Indian!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I love Indian food, and this is likely the best I've ever had in the States. Everything we got was absolutely delicious, and the staff were wonderful--very kind, attentive, and polite. I can ask for nothing more from a restaurant. Definitely try it out--if you've never had Indian food before, this will be a wonderful first experience!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank QuickWhitTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adana, Turkey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Dishes of Fine India”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Not certain where the "Dishes of India Fine India" came from -- perhaps the initial reviewer thought the food to be truly "fine"!

We picked up 5-6 menu items to take out and enjoy "chez nous" and were not disappointed. The Samosas (item #3) were fabulous (especially with the sauces that were provided), Murg Karahi (chicken with a thick curry sauce -- Item #17) divine and everyone loved the Murg Bhajee (chicken and vegetables in an aromatic savory sauce -- item #19b). Who could dine without the Palak Paneer (fresh cheese cubes in spinach sauce item #36) or the Naan (item #40)? The Vegetable Biryani (item #27) was a great base for the main dishes, although basmati rice was available with the entree items.

Who cannot dine and enjoy Indian food without a Lhasi? Order their Mango Lassi -- you'll not be disappointed!

Will I return? -- absolutely. And will bring family and friends with me!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lledds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dishes of India - " A diamond in the rough"”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This restaurant is located in a strip mall: 1510A Belle View Blvd Alexandria, VA 22307 Urban Spoon rated this as 84% - I found this place to be really tasty!!! we ordered Samosa as the appetizer and the sauces that came with it were so good!!! Our entrees consisted of : Butter Chicken and Vegetable Madras. The service was phenomenal. The food 10 out ot 10. The restaurant was very clean.When you walk theough the front door- you walk down stairs to the dining room. A fantastic surprise :) a happy customer. I very much intend on becoming a "regular" at this establishment! Reservations are accepted. They have a full bar!!!
Atmosphere OK - great for Friends/ Family and Couples - not a "romantic" setting BUT surprisingly superb!!!! $$ - $$$

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dishes of India also viewed

 

Been to Dishes of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing