We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Chart House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Chart House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 752 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Union Street
Transit: King Street Metro Station
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I have not been to a Chart House in some time however the food was great and consistent as the last time. This restaurant is right on the Potomac River. Nice views from the outside table we were at.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpbtkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    436
    189
    93
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic Interlude”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is a great atmosphere dinning experience. The food is delicious and the scenery is very pleasant. You can dine in the restaurant or on the deck. You watch the boats come in and the planes fly over. The staff are very personable. The price is a bit high but it make a great first date dinner because you have so many other after dinner extra. A walk along the river, A ride in one of the boats to DC for a night time monument tour or just sit on the benches outside and feed the birds.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank havebagwilltravel48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Decor out of the 60's - most unappealing!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in here for a quick snack. Seriously this place looked so dated I wouldn't dream of eating a proper meal there despite the wonderful location. It is crying out for a makeover! Blue and green carpet with blue and green bar - surely everyone knows these are not colors conducive to eating. Staff seemed friendly enough and the fish taco for happy hour was good. Happy hour prices don't apply to the deck though so we had to eat inside.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KB_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
293 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Lovely water views, romantic window tables, worst service in Old Town”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We love this location in Old Town and are particularly fond of the half moon ante room on the southeast corner. It is available for lunch and dinner, but closed mid to late afternoon, which is most unfortunate.

Arrive early in the summer for popular outdoor seating. A substantial line is formed by 6:00 and options often limited on nice evenings until at least 8.

The food is similar to other Chart House restaurants and wine options were very good. A few specialty cocktails are available from a relatively lively bar and add a fit of fun to the water experience.

The staff and service here are the big downside. Not only is it sloooowwww, but we have twice now had male waiters whose arrogance and lack of service orientation truly tempted us to deny them tips. I have no idea where they disappear to, but we have on numerous occasions been compelled to ask a server not our own for basic items like water refills, dessert menus, condiments and the like. Truly awful.

But it you can ignore the wait staff, have plenty of time (no one would never feel rushed here!), and are bent on enjoying yourself no matter the negative energy of your wait staff, you will be delighted by a great seafood, waterside dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LIbbewdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice birthday”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

This was first time eating at the Chart House. We went for a birthday and we were accommodated with a window seat. The food was very good. The favorite at our table was the scallops. Service was very good and we never felt rushed. We enjoyed it and would recommend. Nice to walk along water after dinner. Parking was a bit of a challenge not knowing the area. We did see a public parking garage close by as we were leaving. Maybe next time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaPatriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chart House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chart House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing