We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greasy Spoon Award”
Review of Hard Times Cafe

Hard Times Cafe
Order Online
Ranked #51 of 902 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Reviewed May 23, 2019 via mobile

If you like greasy food then this is your place. I went with several people for dinner and were placed in upstairs in a nice comfortable room. The service was intermittent as our server had to work tables both upstairs and downstairs. The ultimate margaritas were good but some of those ordered came to the table as regular ones and were not so good, a bit bitter. It seems that someone forgot to put in the premium tequila. It seemed that all or most choices were greasy or fried or well done.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank MelbourneMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 747 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2019

I was pleasantly surprised by this little hole in the wall. A variety of unique meals with a special “Hard Times” touch. An excellent amount of food that was reasonably priced.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank robertlB832HQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

We chose this place whilst in the area as it had decent reviews on trip advisor. It also appealed as a reasonably priced eatery which was family friendly.

The chilli tasters definitely made me change my mind on what to eat, I opted for the texas chilli which has to be the best chilli I have ever tasted. My wife had her Texas chilli on pasta and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Reasonably priced and definitely would visit again if in the area. Yes it's not the smartest looking restaurant but it was homely and had a relaxed atmosphere with friendly and helpful service.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank LiverpoolDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

I read the reviews of this place before my wife and I visited. While she thoroughly enjoyed her meal fo blackened chicken salad I was not impressed either with the chili dog I had or the chili sampler that I had. While the service was very good when we arrived it went downhill from there. I had to ask for our check twice despite the fact it was obivious that we were done eating and ready to leave. Again this may indeed be a great place to eat but it wasn't for me.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank m3schmied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

So thought this would be great. Place old and a little dingy, service slow, food adequate and as old as the building. Onion rings barely coated and soggy, Chili on the sliders was definitely sitting a pretty good while. Not as good as the area it is serving.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 758harriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Times Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hard Times Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing