We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hard Times Cafe

Hard Times Cafe
Ranked #16 of 752 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Still great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Every time we are in Alexandria, we eat here at Hard Times. The chilis are all excellent. We love getting the Fritos bowl. Yummy! Everyone is nice and the serve Coke. Can't go wrong here.

Helpful?
Thank ladysusan26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    265
    94
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food/ Good People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stopped in after reading the reveiws and found a friendly face and a warm greeting. We sat down and our waitress arrived to take our order. She helped us decide on the chili by giving us a sampler and pointing out difference between them. They were all good, but we chose the Cinncinatti, because it wasn't that hot. I had a burger ,which cooked just right, and came with fresh french fries, that were great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, NC
Level Contributor
157 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wings were on point”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

My son and I ate there the other day because we saw it got good reviews. We enjoyed it. The wings were very fresh and the flavors were good. The price was right and I enjoyed the beer specials!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yesdondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfort food and friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stopped here for quick drink and early lunch (11:00AM). We had their chili and onion rings and some white wine. We immediately felt at home! Everyone was so friendly!!! We were only in town for 3 days and went back everyday! From fired mac and cheese to pasta with chili to chicken fingers, all were as good as their service! If we are in town again we will certainly be back!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mstisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Staff, Great Entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

If you are looking for something a little different while in VA, check out "Hard Times Cafe" in Alexandria. It's right off of I-95 and at first gander, you wuold think it's just any ordinary bar, resturant. I can say the food was top notch bar food and if you like southern style food, it's the way to go. I was suprised when I seen a hudge concert state with lights, and a big sound system. The act that night was "Slamm Band" out of Philly, but what a great show. We got to drink some beers, eat some good southerfood, house music, as well as, some good old rockin Roll/Dance music. It was a very friendly crowd and they danced the night away. I believe Jessy was our server, and she took good care of us. It broke up the drive from FL to NJ for sure and there were 3 chain hotels that were very nice too and conviently located. Check it out, if your in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Treblok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Times Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hard Times Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing