We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Tomato Soup is the gold Standard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LA Madeleine French Bakery

LA Madeleine French Bakery
Ranked #22 of 726 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Tomato Soup is the gold Standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I always have the same thing here, the Tomato Soup. Get this, have a slice of bread and one of the yummy deserts. Coffee here was great and it's a fast and easy lunch or light dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank krewerka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    206
    66
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyrone, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Steps away from the Hotel Monaco so I was able to get over there early in the morning and buy their wonderful pastries for breakfast. The chocolate almond croissant was to die for...as were their chocolate and mini chocolate croissants.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I found this nice little restaurant and came away very happy. I had the chicken and pasta with pesto which was very good . My wife had the Chicken Madeleine which she was also quite happy with. We both had the onion soup which while it wasn't bad, it wasn't really top notch. We both got Napoleons to take back to our room for dessert and they were very tasty. We were both pleased to find this little restaurant and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a decent place to eat without spending a lot of money in Alexandria.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ughdoug4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Mmmmmm, breaaaaaaad....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Omg, delicious, delicious, delicious - everything looks so yummy. The desserts and breads look amazing and the decor is very simple Parisian. Good location and nice treats.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michaele m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great little bakery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

While staying at the Hotel Monaco we opted to get take out breakfast from the bakery and was not disappointed - delicious!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sensitiveartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA Madeleine French Bakery also viewed

 

Been to LA Madeleine French Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing