We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Three and one-half stars on food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Andree Restaurant - CLOSED

Chez Andree Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Three and one-half stars on food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

As another reviewer commented, the food was good, but didn't particularly "wow" us. The atmosphere is lovely and consistent with a restaurant in France. The staff is gracious, making the dining experience pleasant and similar to eating overseas. And the food is better than average, but not quite something I'd give four stars. (IMHO, many TA reviewers overrate restaurants, as they have here. Four stars would be unexpectedly good and five stars would be one in a hundred restaurants.) Chez Andrez thus gets my three and one-half stars for food and four stars for everything else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank analytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Always a pleasant experience. The service is top notch and the food sublime! Also have specials with reasonable rates, but check the extensive menu! Wine list and delicious deserts too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LPalmer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“French Cuisine at it Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I had a five course meal at Chez Andree, and every bite was a treat for my taste buds! I ordered mussels in a white wine garlic sauce; they were so wonderful! The appetizer, salad, bread, and dessert were also just as amazing. We celebrated my mom's birthday at this restaurant as it is her favorite. They staff doesn't rush you so we were able to talk, visit, and share for several hours at a laid back pace. The restaurant is beautifully decorated and the staff is top notch. This is a busy restaurant so it is helpful to call ahead. My mom said they make the best Pisco Sours as well. I had a glass of wine that the waiter recommended; he picked the perfect type for my tastes. They also have specials all the time so you can check out their websites if you want to save some money. This is almost like dining in the middle of France. I highly recommend this place to you and your family!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clopaboba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Like dining with a cozy French family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was one of my family's favorite restaurants when I was growing up. It has remained first-rate. Classic French cuisine in a Provincial style, very cozy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine FL
Level Contributor
268 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good food and service with old world charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A friend and I ordered identical meals with wine, a house salad, chicken florentine, and coffee. Chicken was wonderful and served with 3 vegetables and a smaller scoop of rice. Service was attentive but not pushy. Decor is old family restaurant that was quite nice. My friend has dined here often.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank havaneseangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Andree Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing