We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great casual pizza joint with wonderful food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bugsy's Pizza & Sports Bar

Bugsy's Pizza & Sports Bar
Ranked #94 of 748 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great casual pizza joint with wonderful food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

They catered our wedding reception, and we've eaten their multiple times. A nice, casual restaurant with above-average pizza and a nice atmosphere in an old building. My wife and family and I enjoy this place, even as much as a Ruth's Chris or Morton's down the street. Casual, nice, and fun!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelMan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    76
    39
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville
Level Contributor
182 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We decided to have pizza and beer one night while in Alexandria, this was a good choice. We sat outside at a sidewalk table and enjoyed the weather and watching the crowd go by. The thin crust pizza was really good and the beer was cold. Service was just average, at best.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Attkica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“All you can eat pizza and salad lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

For a good price, I was content with a fresh salad bar and hot pizza. They also had a dessert pizza which was quite good.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJMSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best bargain in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

If you love pizza and need to keep the spending in check, go to the buffet. They have salad and all different types of fresh pizza ready to eat. We have ordered off the menu as well and have been pleased. Very reasonable especially for Old Town.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank retiredtraveler065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“They should be ashamed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We called last night for a pizza and salad for delivery. The guy on the phone told me it would be an hour. I thought that was a bit long to wait for a pizza, but said ok. Well, it wasn't an hour, it was an hour and 17 minutes. The salad we ordered with it did not contain one piece of lettuce that was not rotten or wilted. The broccoli in the salad was so old it had flowered. The carrots were slimy. The pizza was stone cold and when we tried to heat it up, something was way wrong with the meat on it, probably past its pull date, too. I called and spoke with the manager who said he could get us another order. IN 45 MINUTES! Does anyone want to come home from work and wait more than two hours to eat dinner? $28 bucks for rotten food and attitude. Stay away from this pit. The only thing they are good for is thumb-suckers getting drunk and watching mindless sports on blaring TVs. The food is crap.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SidelineObservant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bugsy's Pizza & Sports Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bugsy's Pizza & Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing