We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waitresses should smile...”
Review of RT's Restaurant

RT's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
RT's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 763 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Glebe Rd
Transit: Bus at corner of Russell and Mount Vernon Avenue
Kitcat22
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Waitresses should smile...”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Been here several times, live the food. But is a pleasant waitress too much to ask for? Wish I'd been seated where the waiter was serving.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitcat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    73
    15
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent the last week of June in Washington, DC and the surrounding area. During our visit, we ate out every meal, including many terrific meals, as you might expect in our nation's capitol.

Hands down, the best meal we had was at RT's in Alexandria. The four in our party, including my ten year old granddaughter, ordered something different from their Cajun inspired seafood menu. Every item (we shared with each other) was excellent, as was the service.

Our overall experience at RT's was excellent and we will definitely go back on our next visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank denny_thomas3065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!!!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Awesome food and service. FRESH squeezed lemonade. Oysters were large so you only needed 6. Fast and friendly service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank delaurel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cajun/Creole Goodness”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

It can be hard to find good Cajun and Creole food outside NOLA. This place is the real deal. Large selection of fresh seafood, plus gumbos and etoufees. The etoufees we had were in a dark, rich, just slightly spicy sauce - large portions. Oysters were excellent, cole slaw, pecan pie - everything was carefully prepared. Big wine and beer list, cheerful service. It's not much to look at on the outside, but warm spirits and goodness inside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelguy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Norway, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food and service!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We went because of recomandaiton from friends. We have lived in Alexandria for 1.5 years and never been here! Would probably not stop there...unless we had gotten it recomended! Dont let the outside fool you...the food was good! We both had fish, my husband had salmon and it was moist and had some different tastes then he had before. He liked it! I had the mahi mahi, very well spiced and moist! We are both a bit picky on fish, it so easy to overcook it...here it was as very good! Still moist and tasty. Good size portions, served on what I call 'kitchen'dishes. You get one side dish with the entree-and it enough for two! so we had different sides and shared them :) We shared the key lime pie, with I loved, the crust was amazing! The service was very good here, Eric came by and chatted and made sure we enjoyed! And our waiter was very nice! We liked it here and We will be back to taste something else!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sigrun65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RT's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to RT's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing