We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to watch a game.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Union Street Public House

Union Street Public House
Reserve with OpenTable
Union Street Public House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 748 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $21 - $21
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Old Town
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to watch a game.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We just stopped by for a couple of beers and ended up staying for the game. Good draft beer selection. And great oysters on the half shell.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    99
    77
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Little Rock
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Is that a roach?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We visited union street public house on Friday, October 4, 2013. The atmosphere was very lively. The staff that seated us and waited and us were friendly. We ate an appetizer of 6 oysters. Shortly after our meal came out. Three mussels into my bowl a roach crawled right across the table. I caught it in my napkin. The server came and I showed her the roach. The manager was slower to come to the table and with her came someone who removed the napkin with the roach in it. She voiced being very embarrassed about the situation and allowed us to leave without charge.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanhee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, NJ
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere and good fare!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a mainstay place in Alexandria. On Union St.which is close to the waterfront and King St. (sightseeing, shops, recreation and other eateries.) The original decor of the pub area is warm and friendly with a very traditional architectural look. The newer part of the restaurant is open and airy and also has provision for catering. This is place that is historic and modern which has very good food. I have been going here whenever I go to Alexandria for the last 20 years and I have never been disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PortiaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Terrible service + terrible food = Total waste of time & money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a group of family members come in here for Friday night dinner. Yes, it was easy to make reservations. The staff who I talked to on the phone were nice, as was the hostess who sat us.

Now, the food. From the fried chicken to the PEI mussels to the trout, everything was just flavorless. Fail. And to make matters worse, the female server who took our orders just gave bad service. After we were served our dishes, she forgot some follow-up orders of condiments, drinks, and didn't show up at our table until after we asked for her again. We had also asked for a side of grilled asparagus. Nobody came with the asparagus, until we had to walk over to where the servers were and follow up on the order, only to be told that the restaurant was running low on it, and that it was reserved for customers who are ordering the Berkshire Porkchop. How about telling us that earlier???

It also took a long time (again!) to have her give us the check. When one of us went up to her to complain about the long wait and the oh-so-elusive asparagus, this female server didn't even apologize. Instead, she was very defensive and said it wasn't her fault. Looks like someone needs to take Customer Service 101 all over again. A more senior staff stepped in, and yes, while he apologized (albeit unconvincingly), he didn't really offer to do anything to make things better.

And BTW, it wasn't like the place was packed that they were so busy to forget our orders and make us wait. There were lots of empty table where we were upstairs!

Never again! There's really no reason to come back to this place. I noticed that it was mostly tourists who go to this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank foadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Bar with long standing good Bartenders”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place is usually a fun late night place to hang out and see the locals get a bit wild. The Bartenders there are great especially long standing Bruce. He always takes good care of you and overall a great bar experience. Lots of beers on tap. Have to try the Founders if you like a Porters.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REVIEWGURUTODAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Street Public House also viewed

 

Been to Union Street Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing