We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Town Jem”

Union Street Public House
Reserve with OpenTable
Union Street Public House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 763 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $21 - $21
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Old Town's Neighborhood Tap And Grill.
washington dc
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Old Town Jem”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I like to eat @ union street whenever we spend the day in old town, the wait in not that bad but I do prefer the upstairs over the ground floor or the bar area. Try the gumbo, crabcakes or fish & chips. I am partial to the oyster sandwitch but last time I had the smoked chicken salad club, Yum. The salads are rather large. The service can be hit or miss. Pretty average most of the time. There are a lot of places to eat in old town but I always prefer to eat here as I am happy witht he quality menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drjonesphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    105
    81
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Come for the oysters, not the omelettes”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I've been to Union Street several times, mostly for lunch, which has been consistently great. Soups, sandwiches, burgers - etc. The raw oysters are always fresh and delicious. However, on a recent visit for brunch with the family, we were disappointed! The service was great, as usual. However, my crab and goat cheese omelette had NO goat cheese; the chicken salad sandwiich was just okay - tasted like it could've come from the grocery store. The lobster bisque was delicious, as was the crab cake benedict.
Will probably go back there again, for the traditional lunch fare.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'm a regular”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My friends and I tend to go to happy hour here. Service has always been good and the prices are reasonable. Only had dinner here once (fish and chips) and was above average, although not the greatest. But, the happy hour is what we come for anyway. The bar bites are a good value. The place does get quite busy and loud starting at 9pm. Compared to some of the other places bars in the area, we prefer this one. Probably because the bartenders know our names by now!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We looked around for places to eat, there were many. We chose the Union Street Public House for lunch as we were looking for crab cakes. We were not disappointed. The food was great. We will stop in again some time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TFB-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Always enjoy it”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

First, I have to admit I always go for the burger. From my first visit, it’s on my places to eat while in town list. It does get noisy on the main level, but the upstairs offers a quieter, relaxed dining experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ISC624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Street Public House also viewed

 

Been to Union Street Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing