We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish restaurant”
Review of La Bergerie Restaurant - CLOSED

La Bergerie Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Queen and N. Lee
Transit: King Street Metro
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Stylish restaurant”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Birthday dinner with good friends at La Bergerie. Laurent, the owner, looked after our every need. Food and wine were excellent and we would happily return. I even got a special desert with Happy Birthday written on the plate - how delightful and thoughtful.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at La Bergerie Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    37
    19
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leland, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A Classic That Is Ageless”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Returning after a decade, our holiday lunch was exceptional. Tableside prepared cesar salad was one of the best we've had in years. Entries were excellent and the ambiance and service perfect. Rumors have it they may move - hope they remain in the "warehouse" for many years to come.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RickL909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at La Bergerie Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Rick, thank you for the nice review, we're very happy you enjoyed everything!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Still Very Good After All These Years”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Hubby and I decided to treat ourselves to lunch out on Christmas Eve, a day off provided by The Boss. Instead of our usual keep-an-eye-on-the-budget choice, we decided to spring for Le Bergerie. LB has been a standard in Old Town Alexandria for many years and it had been a while since we last dined there.

We both started with the French Onion Soup, a particular favorite. As always it was delicious with just the correct amount of broth/cheese/onion/bread. Speaking of bread . . . the bread brought to the table is the best we have ever had. Where do they get it? Perhaps made in-house.

Hubby had the steak and frittes -- This man has never met a french fry he wouldn't down. I had my favorite, Dover sole, which is finished table side by our professional wait staff. Both entrees de-lish. My hand kept snaking over to Hubby's frittes. Simply wonderful.

After a meal of this size, we could not hold dessert, so can give no guidance on this subject. But if the desserts were the same quality as our meal, anything on the menu would be welcome.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SidelineObservant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at La Bergerie Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
So very happy you enjoyed everything, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Our party all agreed that the food was satisfactory. One ordered elk but got beef. One had over cooked veal. Both were properly replaced. But our waiter was inattentive and seemed bored and a bit too much like he was working in a hash house or something--very much detracting from our enjoyment. We were not too surprised that he'd goofed up the elk order since he was actually conversing with a just-arriving couple that he apparently knew while he was taking our orders. This restaurant just does not compare favorably with L'Auberge Chez Francois, which is where we went last week. That restaurant is more attractive and had impeccable service--a much better choice if you have the option.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArtColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jumpin' all over the world
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Service was their downfall”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Four of us decided to splurge on their Christmas Eve price fixe meal, but unfortunately, in the end, we wished we'd gone somewhere else.

The good parts were:
*The food was mostly quite good.
*We were lucky that our table was in a smaller room with only one other table dining, so it was quiet and easy to talk.

But the down sides unfortunately outweighed the good:
*I ordered my stead medium and it came rare. I sent it back and when it returned it was at least medium-well -- really closer to well done. I ate it, and it was fine, but this was disappointing.
*Our raspberry souffle desserts were so overwhelmingly sweet that we simply could not enjoy them.
*Two of us had sparkling water and two had flat, but when they refilled our water glasses everyone got sparkling -- so those of us who don't like the taste of sparkling had to ask for new glasses of water.
*Our server clearly had too many tables. We could not get his attention and found ourselves grabbing any employee who happened to pass by us when we needed something.
*After finishing our desserts and coffee it took another 15 minutes to get the server's attention to get our bill (this was after asking another server if he could notify our server that we'd like our bill -- he said he would, but it didn't appear to happen). When we told him we'd like two bills, he said it would take him quite a bit of time to be able to do that, and then he walked away. I literally got up and went after him and asked if it would be easier for us to have one bill and just split it on two credit cards. He said that would be fine and easy, but if I hadn't chased after him who knows how long we would have been waiting.

The poor service -- which appeared to be due to too few servers working -- made us regret spending nearly $350 on this meail. While most of the food was good, it wasn't good enough for us to recommend La Bergerie to friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RachelinKabul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bergerie Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing