We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, and they know their wines”
Review of La Bergerie Restaurant - CLOSED

La Bergerie Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Queen and N. Lee
Transit: King Street Metro
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic, and they know their wines”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A friend wanted to hear all about our vacation in Paris and Provence and thought a meal at a fine French restaurant would be the perfect place for it. Happy to report that La Bergerie exceeded our expectations, and that's after eating some awfully fine meals in France. Not only were the entrees done perfectly (steak for me with a bone marrow sauce, fish for my dining companions) but the wine selections were superb. We ordered off the regular menu but went for the three-wine sampler from the tasting menu, and our waiter chose the wines based on what we were having. So a white with the fish but a wonderful red Chateauneuf-du-Pape (by total coincidence, from the very region we had just visited) with the meat. And as if reading my mind, a Grand Marnier, expertly warmed, with my Crepes Suzette. The crepes were good, but the dessert souffles of my companions were even better.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at La Bergerie Restaurant, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you Steve - very happy we were able to bring back your visit to France:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    37
    19
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than TGIFridays, but not worth the money”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We visited La Bergerie to celebrate a special day. I will not return. The service was not very good. The host did not greet us at once. The waiter delivered the white wine warm and cradled in his arm-pit, chilling it only after I tasted it.

The fish fillet was limp and held heat suggesting it was prepared earlier and micro-waved warm. The menu is fine, and the wine list is good. But the presentation and service are at best indifferent given the price of the meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George10flr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thursday night dining experience”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We went to have the Thursday night special but changed our minds when we saw the choices on the 3 and 4 course tasting menu, with wine pairings. It was great-the soup of the day was a mushroom soup-delicious-the elk was perfectly prepared-the profiteroles were a perfect ending. The wine pairings were perfectly matched to each course for both of us. It was quiet and a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BETH J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at La Bergerie Restaurant, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you Beth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal, Great Service”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We dined here during Alexandria Rest. Week--had the prix fixe 3-course meal. All three of us had a different entree and all were excellent. The wine selections were pricey but we had a $40 bottle of Rhone that was a great accompanyment and rated 91 pts by R. Parker. Would highly recommend this for a romantic meal, special occassion. The creme brulee and Grand Marnie souffle were wonderful desserts to end out night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MPWAnnapolisW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at La Bergerie Restaurant, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for coming in, we appreciate the review and are happy you enjoyed everything!

facebook/La-Bergerie-Restaurant-AlexandriaVA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Atrocious service ruined anniversary”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

That was the first time in 20 years that we did not leave a tip (we left $1). I went with my wife to quietly celebrate a private event. The food was fine with the exception of the desert, so were the employees – friendly nice and helpful….

The waiter on the other hand was a total disgrace. His English was barely comprehensible and he did not even make an effort to speak clearly, he never smiled, he did not bother to explain the menu, i.e. how the restaurant week worked or present other menu options. His attitude was rude, indifferent and condescending.

He kept our wine on ice, away from the table…and he never showed up to pour it into our glasses. Twice after waiting for more than 10 minutes with empty glasses we had to ask the boy cleaning the tables to bring us our wine. The waiter never showed up to check on us or inquire whether we were satisfied with the food and the service either. We are not picky and don't expect or need much but if they keep our wine away from the table they should at least be available to pour it when the glasses are empty. This was by far the worst service of our life and a disappointing evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisOl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bergerie Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing