We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent mini-vacation in Greece”
Review of Taverna Cretekou

Taverna Cretekou
Ranked #22 of 763 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Alexandria, VA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent mini-vacation in Greece”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

The food at Taverna Cretekou has been superb for many years, and we remain amazed at how their menu has become even more like sitting down to a great meal in a neighborhood taverna. The owners care about their customers, and the consistent quality of the food is an example of that care.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JBtraveler2344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    135
    44
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Authentic Greek Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

This Greek restaurant has been there for a long time. You get excellent food and genuine Greek atmosphere and service. The waiters are a good source of recommendations. The Greek dishes are great, so don't stick to only the typical Mediterranean (the Greek coffee is the real thing). Everyone wants to sit outside in the summer. But the inside seating has all the atmosphere, and air conditioning too. So don't wait for an outside table. Owners take their time to make sure you are happy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming atmosphere, delightful staff”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

From our first visit, we were enchanted by the atmosphere of this little restaurant and the people who took care of us. We were so impressed, we booked a wedding rehearsal dinner here. Our meals were delicious, the patio perfect for dining, and the music (Thursday nights) was delightful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginiarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
“Fabulous evening”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

My son and his girlfriend live in Alexandria and I visit them regularly, so have sampled many restaurants in the area. But our visit to Taverna Cretekou was easily my best dining experience, not just because the food was good, but because the outdoor terrace is so lovely, and the service was just perfect. Definitely my favorite place in Old Town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarrietOvertonWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, Ca
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good family experience”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Our family of 7 had a great experience. Sampler plate and Greek salad for starters hit the spot. We had reservations and were seated promptly - lots of energy in the restaurant- lively and noise level is high but not uncomfortable.
They catered to our 3 children and the service was prompt and enthusiastic with good follow up.
The food was tasty - chicken skewer, roasted chicken, calamari, and beef were all well received. Dessert was great - and the flaming cheese was a 4th of July redux.
The patio looked very inviting but we chose the inside due to threatening rain. Wine was a little high for the quality - it was a Greek white and just OK.
We would return though it is quite a trek from our Northern California home.

Helpful?
Thank irishrover40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Cretekou also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Cretekou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing