We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Popular for a reason” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna Cretekou

Taverna Cretekou
Ranked #13 of 733 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Old Town
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Popular for a reason”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We tried this place after noticing that it always seemed to be crowded. That's for good reason, we found out. The menu features many Greek specialties and is a lot like a menu you'd see in Greece itself. I didn't know how much I'd missed tzatziki and tarmasalata! Wait staff is efficient and fun, there's a back garden, and we look forward to returning on our next visit to Alexandria.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    123
    41
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My favorite restaurant on King st. We came in to share an appetizer on a Thurs. Night. The owners were delightful and the wait staff excellent. The old fellows were playing and singing Greek music. I was encouraged to try the greek white wine and im glad I did because it was delicious! ...we will be back

Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
221 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Very good Greek food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We ate here in June 2014. Overall the food is very good and I would definitely return. We sat outside on the patio, which was very nice. We started with the tzatziki and Greek salad. The tzatziki was very close to what I've had in Greece. For my entrée, I had an eggplant and cheese dish (I forget the name of it) which was very good as well.

As for the service, while there was nothing wrong with it, I would say that it was just okay. It wouldn't hurt if the service had a little more personality (they were somewhat robotic). Overall, though, this was not a big deal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tacostuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun & Festive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

The hostess is a gem! My out of town guests ask to eat here. The food is always delicious and high quality. The fresh fish is de-boned at the table. Traditional Greek dishes are a comfort food no matter your nationality. The service is professional, yet warm and welcoming. Be prepared to dance, the entertainment is festive. We enjoy sitting in the outdoor garden. Did I mention the melt-in-your-mouth leg of lamb, yum.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I was recently in Alexandria, and wanted to try this "well reviewed" Greek restaurant- i was not disappointed!
I am Greek/Australian, and have lived in Greece {in the past} for many years, and found the food offered in this enchanting place- most authentic and delicious. My friend and i came about an hour before closing, and were given polite, well informed recommendations on their specials for that evening, and once our order was given, our food arrived in a timely manner. The standout item: the grilled octopus, in a wine/garlic/olive oil marinande-superb! I felt as if i had been transported to a Greek beach, as i devoured each morsel.
The more formal part of Taverna Cretekou {indoor section} looked to be elegant and had it been cold outside, would have been my choice to enjoy my dinner, however, it was a lovely warm evening and the patio outside with its overhead grape trellis and tiny lights, only further added to a perfect evening.
Will return for sure, to try more delights on my next trip back to Alexandria.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank australiannomad50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taverna Cretekou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing