We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Greek cuisine in Old Town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna Cretekou

Taverna Cretekou
Ranked #13 of 733 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Old Town
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Greek cuisine in Old Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The cuisine is very good Greek, with indoor and outdoor seating (seasonal). Service is good. Lamb dishes are particularly well prepared.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    123
    41
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food but rushed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I ordered the 2 combination plates to get a little taste of everything and I would definitely recommend both, however, we had our food before we could barely take a sip of our wine. From the minute we sat down our very competent and personable waiter wanted to take our order before we had time to look at the extensive menu. There seemed to be pressure to order ,eat and leave. We would go here again, but would now tell the waiter to give us some time. Go for the food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy53Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing and very Greek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I was raised in a Greek household and, while no restaurant can match my Greek mother's cooking, this comes the closest. First of all, the owners and staff are very glad you are there and they let you know that. Even after they got really busy around 7:30, they were still very attentive. I tried their gaspacho (not very Greek, but I knew it would be good) for appetizer and enjoyed it. I had a fish (brassini, brazzini?), which the owner said was flown in daily from Greece. It was cooked to perfection and excellent. My wife had a lamb shoulder with sun-dried tomatoes and found it excellent also. The music started at about 7:30 and the staff did a bit of Greek dancing which was very entertaining. For desert, we had the Galaktoboureko and enjoyed it. All in all, we'll go back every time we're in the DC area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful patio dining. Mediocre food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We sat on the patio for lunch. The service was not the best & we hoped the food was better. It was not. I ordered my gyro with sauce only and it came with everything. The staff watched me trying to scrape the items off and did not offer to make it right. We isn't see our server again until the end. She even sounded surprised that we were not going to have dessert. No thank you. Do not recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank vickie73_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
688 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Tasteless dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Had supper, I had the lamb souvlaki and my wife had the chicken souvlaki. Both meals lacked spices, flavor and meat was tough. The server kept on pressuring us to order dinner as if they waited us to eat and fill our table for the next customer. We were there for about 50 minutes. Dinner comprised of about 5 pieces of meat and rice. I would not go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank haileythegolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taverna Cretekou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing