We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Greek food”
Review of Taverna Cretekou

Taverna Cretekou
Ranked #20 of 763 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Peotone, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good Greek food”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Authentic and Tasty Greek food with reasonable prices. Lamb shank with orzo was very good. My wife had the chicken shish kabob which was tasty but a little dry. Very friendly waiter, Hassan.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank empjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    135
    44
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Greek Food”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Outstanding food and service. You walk in and you become family! Thursday nights are terrific due to the wonderful live music, great food, friendly staff, and lots of dancing! I travel here every two years when i am in the area. It is worth the 2000 mile trek all by itself!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wyomingwildrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“After many years, a great dining experience!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife, Janice, a friend, and I ate lunch here on Saturday, March 2, 2013. Five stars!

Janice and I moved to Alexandria in 1996, and soon after we ate at this restaurant. Meh. We never had the desire to return. However, we learned that there had been a change of ownership, so we decided to try it again. We are glad we did. The food & dessert was great. Our server was terrific too, although I didn't get his name. I did learn that he is from Albania and speaks fluent Spanish because he lived in Spain. What a country!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMB&JAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We eat here every time we visit Old Town and are never disappointed. This visit we had an octopus appetizer that was absolutely the best we have ever tasted. I had a lamb shank with wine sauce which was delicious! A lemon brule with Zorba coffee for dessert. I wish we lived closer. The waiter was delightful and attentive and when we asked took our picture. It was a lovely evening.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank gshwesternpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Not quite sure how this got to be ranked so high out of all the restaurants in this city. The service was good, but the food taste and portions were no more than average. There are definitely better Greek restaurants in the area for a better value. Not a bad place...just average.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Cretekou also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Cretekou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing