We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Irish pub with good food”
Review of Pat Troy's Restaurant & Pub - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pat Troy's Restaurant & Pub
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
347 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Cute Irish pub with good food”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Pat Troy's is nestled off of King street - going towards the water away from the metro, just turn left at The Loft. They're very military friendly - just look at their walls - and have been visited by no small # of celebrities. They have a decent tap selection, not bad variety of whiskies if that's your thing, and a good food menu. The chicken with a bourbon cream sauce is absolutely phenomenal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheAnvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Pint of Guinness in Lovely Virginia!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Whilst on a Thomas Cook escorted tour of the USA and Canada, we visited the lovely town of Alexandria, in the state of Virginia. After a walk round my wife and I decided to have our dinner in Pat Troy's American/Irish restaurant and pub! On entering we were made most welcome,and were taken to a table at once. The young lady, who was to be our waitress handed us a menu and our drinks order. As we were only visiting Alexandria for a short time, we decided to have the main course.My wife wanted to sample the fish and chips (Irish/American style) and I had a burger cooked in stout! We both enjoyed our fare, the atmosphere, and the Guinness! The waitress was very friendly and helpful, professional and courteous! Although we couldn't do justice to our visit to this restaurant/pub or to the town of Alexandria, at this time we would most certainly return at a future time! I would therefore thoroughly recommend dining out, or just socialising over a pint, at this establishment!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Big_Al191270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Cute little place with good Krack and a Reagan historical stop. Good beer good pub grub great location.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cmacNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyed”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The restaurant had changed hands, but the name on the marquee was still “Pat Troy’s”. We stopped in twice during our visit to the area. The food and service were very good; recommend the chicken on pretzel beard sandwich.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ISC624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, FL
Level Contributor
312 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Lunch with Stella”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This restaurant has recently changed its name but the sign still says Pat Troy's.

We had our final lunch here after checking in our luggage at the Alexandria Amtrak station and boarded the nearby free King St. trolley. It was noon and we were the only customers so we didn't get a feel for the ambiance. Country music was playing in the background and their was a sign listing the entertainment for the next few weeks.

My fish and chips were cooked well and my husband had a good, medium rare half pound burger, which he enjoyed. Many restaurants can't or won't cook the burgers to order, but this one did.

We had a couple draft beers (Stella Artois just became available there we were told) and then we hopped back on the free trolley and returned to the train station for the southbound Silver Star to return us to Tampa, Fl. It all worked out very well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pat Troy's Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing