We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sportsman's bar and restaurant combined”

Joe Theismann's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe Theismann's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 759 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: King Street
Transit: Joe Theismann's Restaurant is well served by public transportation. The King Street Metro train is located across the street on the blue and the yellow lines, only two stops from Reagan Airport. Also across the street are the Amtrak and VRE trains, Alexandria Dash Bus and REX bus stops as well as the free city Tolley.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great sportsman's bar and restaurant combined”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just across the square from the Old Town/King St Metro Station with 2 hour parking outside the restaurant. We just caught the last half hour of 'Happy Hour' with half priced drinks. The food which was appearingfor other diners looked extremely appetising so we decided to have dinner there. The restaurant looked busy so I imagine it would be better to make a reservation.
The food was fabulous. My chicken was superb and my wife's plate of prawns was enormous!
If anything the bar area was noisey, but you could also eat your meal there. The range of drinks was quite extensive and the attentive bar girls, Penny served us, were professional and attentive. A great night's entertainment!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Euan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    466
    164
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Waitress Regina saves the day”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My friends and I came early... 6:00 on a Friday night... and the place was already hopping. It might be best to make reservations, however I never saw a long 'wait line' after we were seated. This restaurant is on the fringe of Old Town Alexandria, so it's likely not as crowded as restaurants further east on King Street. However, it's right next door to the Embassy Suites Hotel, so it likely gets a lot of their clientele. Our waitress, Regina was AMAZING. She was so knowledgeable about drinks (e.g. what whiskey best goes in what drink, etc.) that I was duly impressed. And she didn't hesitate to suggest certain entrees, what we might consider substituting, etc. She knew her stuff!!!! The food, on the other hand was mediocre. Our bruscetta appetizer was cold and limp. The fish in my fish tacos had a tinny flavor. The salmon entree was overcooked. The only favorable items were the T-Bone steak which my dinner companion said was really nicely seasoned, and the lobster bisque was very nice. Theismann's has been around forever, so I doubt that this review will make or break the restaurant, however, it would be nice for the owner and/or chef to take this review and others seriously and make some changes in the kitchen. If it were not for Regina, this restaurant would rate a 'fair', at best. Give that woman a raise! :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingfun101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good place for dinner and drinks”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I went here for dinner and drinks while here on business. The atmosphere was great and the staff was friendly. The drink selection was excellent and the food was just as good. I sat in the dining area, but the bar was lively as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester, NY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“more than a sports bar”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Food, service and atmosphere are much better than one might expect from a conventional sports bar. A tad noisy near the bar, but not rowdy. Eclectic crowd, family friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
383 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“great meal and atmosphere”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This a great upscale sports bar for any occasion. Service was excellent, and food was very good - lots of tasty desert options. Try the Porterhouse Porkchop - it was like a great steak but like chicken - nice grilled flavor.

If you have a large group, preordering from the group menu makes things really smooth.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JPC451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Theismann's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Joe Theismann's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing