We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great food and service...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Theismann's Restaurant

Joe Theismann's Restaurant
1800 Diagonal Rd, Ste A, Alexandria, VA 22314-2840 (Old Town)
703-739-0777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe Theismann's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 723 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: King Street
Transit: Joe Theismann's Restaurant is well served by public transportation. The King Street Metro train is located across the street on the blue and the yellow lines, only two stops from Reagan Airport. Also across the street are the Amtrak and VRE trains, Alexandria Dash Bus and REX bus stops as well as the free city Tolley.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great food and service...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just a good restaurant which just happens to have Joe's name on it. The food was very tasty, nice recommendation from the staff. Service was very attentive and pricing was good. Nice selection of beers and wines as well. Joe, where were your CFL memories and memorabilia....didn't see anything there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank amtiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    364
    125
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Good Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Theismann's was recommended by the Hampton Inn's front desk. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. It was a little pricier than we expected. The kids wanted steak, so they split the 14 oz NY strip ($35) which was plenty. I had the grilled salmon salad. The salmon was cooked perfectly and wasn't at all dry or overcooked. My husband enjoyed the Philly Cheesecake sandwich. We also tried the lava cake, cheesecake, and peanut butter pie - all were delicious. They offer sandwiches, salads, and chef specials of steak and seafood. It is sort of an upscale sports bar with TVs tunes to sports channels. It is a very short walk from the Hilton and the Hampton Inn in Alexandria. I would recommend this restaurant. Be aware that the salads and sandwiches are reasonably priced, but the specialty dishes will cost $18 and up ($35). Dress is casual.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NCMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great gluten free options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

we had 2 dinners at Theismann's. the first quite elegant -- great food, good presentation, and terrific wait staff. the second night we had more casual fare -- also very good and efficient wait staff. the offerings of gluten free fare was huge to us as my husband needs GF food. I ordered off the GF portion on the second night, since his first night dinner was easily as good as mine

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank retiredearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
141 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“good value, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Right next door to the Embassy Suites hotel, and across the street fro the Old Town Metro. Great service, good value menu and drinks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank joetidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place for a meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Has a wide variety of food options, including the usual bar style food. Several TVs to watch the games and a nice place to go if you are looking for a low key, good dining night with a few drinks

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Theismann's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Joe Theismann's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing