We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pub-ish”

Joe Theismann's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe Theismann's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 763 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: King Street
Transit: Joe Theismann's Restaurant is well served by public transportation. The King Street Metro train is located across the street on the blue and the yellow lines, only two stops from Reagan Airport. Also across the street are the Amtrak and VRE trains, Alexandria Dash Bus and REX bus stops as well as the free city Tolley.
Centreville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Pub-ish”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Theismann's is apparently a great hang-out place for after work folks. The food gets a C+ and the service gets a B. We went for a meal when we were in Alexandria and it was overall an enjoyable time with a reasonable menu selection for dinner. The main drawback, which is obvious when entering, is the fact that they cater to the pub crowd. This would not work for someone looking for an intimate quiet-time evening. There are tables that are farther away from the bar and video screens, but that doesn't really change the atmosphere much. It's a good place as long as you are OK with a louder and atmosphere that's pub-ish.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    472
    165
    28
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Reliable but tends to be overrun by tourists”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Joe's is a rarity in Alexandria - a reasonably-priced restaurant with unpretentious food. It is located conveniently near the King Street Metrorail station, near several hotels (Hilton, Embassy Suites, Hampton Inn). It is a good alternative to hotel dining, although its interior does sort of remind one of a hotel restaurant.

As you would expect, Joe's is sports-themed. Multiple televisions give you a good view of just about any sport that is being shown at the time. It also attracts a large sports crowd for certain games, so don't go in thinking it will be a quiet or relaxed environment.

Since it is near hotels, expect many tourists during spring and summer tourist seasons. While Joe's is deceptively large, you will still likely have a wait, especially in the evenings.

The menu is above-average for a jock-owned sports restaurant. Although Joe Theismann's was one of the early jocks to do so and has been there for a long time (unlike some other jock-owned places now gone). The men, however, is not all that adventurous either. Expect the usual selection of pastas, chicken, etc.

If this were a bit more off the "tourist trail", I'd give it a solid 4 to 4.5. Large crowds, noise, and waits lower the rating to a 3.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Mother's Day visit”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We occasionally dine at Joe Theismann's in Alexandria, so we decided towards the end of Mother's Day to have dinner there. We were frankly disappointed. Now I should say that normally we have a good experience there, but this day Joe's was off. We were placed in a back room under a huge video screen (it is a sports restaurant after all), where our server seemed very distracted though he only had two tables to serve. Every thing was slow motion, he forgot the bread, was slow with the food (even though the restaurant was only about a third filled), was hard to find at times, and late with the bill at the end. He had lots of apologies after the fact, which only made us wonder why he did not inform us in real time about problems he was having. However, the food was very good. I had a salmon salad, which was delicious. My wife has a sea food salad, which she greatly enjoyed.
So my effort to treat the mother of our four children was not very successful in this case.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lords Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Fries, and place to end your evening.”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Okay I can't comment on the food except for the fries - which were excellent. We went in to end our day with a drink and some fries. It was perfect. Lots of screens of course with sports everywhere, which is great but in some places can be overpowering. It's not here - not too loud to have a conversation pleasantly, and easy to ignore the screens if you want to.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Joe T's Never Lets You Down”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hosted a 50th birthday party for my husband for 20 people at Joe T's. Staff was easy to work with in the planning process and took care of everything, no worries. Food was AMAZING as usually and offered a wide variety to the group. Different settings to dine including a sports bar, outdoor seating, inside dining and party room. Food+Staff+Location=Awesome Party. I've been eating here since it first opened and would come back as long as they are here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Theismann's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Joe Theismann's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing