We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic atmosphere”
Review of Gadsby's Tavern

Gadsby's Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Gadsby's Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 759 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cameron Street
Description: Gadsby's Tavern has been offering fine dining since 1770. Enjoy lunch and dinner in one of the elegant Colonial dining rooms. The one-of-a-kind Gadsby's Tavern experience awaits you.
Oak Lawn
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Historic atmosphere”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This restaurant is next to the Gadsby Tavern Museun. Supposedly George Washington and Thomas Jefferson have dined here. It is small and very charming. Lots of atmosphere and very popular especially on weekends. Wait staff dress in period attire. The steaks were very good.
Make a reservation or you probably won't get in. We had a reservation but were seated at a table about 2feet from another table because that was the only table available at 6:00pm. The manager promptly moved us to a just vacated table about 10 min. later because he said he could see I wasn't comfortable with the table. That's excellent service especially since we didn't complain about the seating - there wasn't another choice when we arrived.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank stringerOakLawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    208
    99
    39
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really Nice--HISTORY!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great place and the history of the building is nice as well. Architecture of Old Town Alexandria lives in this building. Great people and atmosphere. Highly recommended for casual dining and relaxing.

Helpful?
Thank KCS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Met expectations across the board!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I went here for our recent anniversary and enjoyed it immensely. The Prime rib was excellent, one of the best we've had. The service was first rate, our waitress both attentive and personable. Ambiance was great, historic down to the wobble in the table. It is not cheap but we enjoyed it. Would recommend it

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Fine.. not overly friendly but, fine”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stopped in on a Sunday. Only brunch food... which was very good. Waitress did not seem to want to be there but, maybe just a bad day and.. it did not affect our service. Interesting there were no lunch entrees after Noon but, maybe because it was Sunday?

No complaints, interesting place given the history. Worth the stop.

Helpful?
Thank thomasrydz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Late Night Stop”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Arrived at hotel late and wanted a simple inexpensive bite to eat. This place offered all you can eat salad and pizza bar starting at 9pm. The price was right, the place was simple, the service was decent. For me, I prefer thin crust pizza which this place did not have. Otherwise, easy stop for a beer and bite to eat without spending a fortune.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank denibeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadsby's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Gadsby's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing