We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Old Town Dining”
Review of Chadwicks

Chadwicks
Ranked #22 of 763 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable Old Town Dining”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Chadwicks is consistently a very good option when eating in Old Town. We visit the area frequently and the food is always well prepared and fairly priced. The 50% coupon on the second entree is a nice value. Staff is friendly. Positive overall experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    206
    62
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunday Bruch”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very good bruch experience. The long wait is worth it so hang around and have a bloody Mary. Food is consistnetly very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Moriches, New York
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Mediocre food Marvelous desserts”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

While staying in the area for a combination of work/play we ate out every night. We were taking in a show at the Old Town Theatre and had discount coupons (buy one entree get one at 50% off) from the water taxi for Chadwicks so we decided to give it a try. Hubby never understands why I ask the server for recommendations but who better to tell me what the most popular choices are? Most of the time they steer me in the right direction. This time leaves me wondering if she had any taste buds at all. She all but insisted I order the Chicken VIrginia. Described on the menu as chicken topped with ham and crab in a sherry cream sauce. Sounded interesting. What arrived was a small, boneless chicken breast swimming in a sauce that looked like lumpy Elmer's glue. The predominant flavor was crab and cream. No hint of ham or chicken. While it was edible, the topping looked too much like something that was regurgitated, and I was able to choke down about half. DH and MIL ordered the ribs and were very happy with them. I didn't get a taste, but they were fall off the bone and looked good. Son decided on a steak, which he reluctantly ate but didn't particularly care for. He's not a particularly picky eater, but he said it was too charred and just didn't have a great flavor. Mind you, this was after an outstanding meal at Gadsby's the previous day, so we were all spoiled.

The stars of the meal were the desserts. We ordered three to share. Two were our choices and one we ordered at the insistence of our waitress. MIL chose mud pie and I selected the upside down apple pie. Both were winners, but the apple pie was the one that made us all dive for the last morsel. The server's choice was an ice box cake, which was one of the specials. Saltine cracker crust topped with strawberries and whipped cream. Crust was way too thick and saltines were the dominant flavor. There were a few sliced strawberries on top and a dollop of fresh whipped cream. This was the only dessert that was left unfinished. It should have been called Meh box cake.

I forgot to mention you have to park in a pay lot across the street, so figure that cost in when deciding to eat here. Even with the coupons the bill came out to $90 and we didn't have drinks. All in all, a forgettable meal saved by good desserts.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank radiiochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Grand on off the Strand”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A little of the beaten path, lunch and dinner. History dates back to 1700's (if the walls could talk). Some outdoor seating, fine when there's a breeze. Try some of the local "fare" it's "fair" priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KrazyKYYOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
787 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
“Best meal of my entire bus trip”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This place seems to be a local institution. It is a little off the main tourist street, but has a wonderful view of the harbor from upstairs.

I had the Virginia Chicken, which was a succulent chicken breast, Virginia Ham, and a mild white cheese. The dish was absolutely delicious. My companion had a seafood dish about which she also raved.

The service was good, and the place was not too noisy.

There is a full bar, and the dress is casual.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capitollover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chadwicks also viewed

 

Been to Chadwicks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing